Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week park

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its "Stars of the Week." College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
(24-of-29, 377 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.6)
Boyd also rushes for a touchdown as he becomes the ACC's all-time leader in total touchdowns responsible for while playing just over one half in a 59-10 blowout of Virginia.

Kolton Browning, UL-Monroe
(21-of-31, 354 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.1)
Browning continues to recover impressively from a serious leg injury, throwing for season-bests in yards and touchdowns as he leads the Warhawks to a critical Sun Belt road win over Troy, 49-37.

Derek Carr, Fresno State
(39-of-55, 487 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.3)
Carr, who also rushes for a touchdown, becomes Fresno State's all-time leader with 10,821 passing yards in a 41-23 victory over Nevada.

Grant Hedrick, Boise State
(19-of-27, 305 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.8)
Hedrick has the biggest game of his career, tallying six touchdowns (one rushing) in a 42-30 Mountain West road victory over Colorado State.

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
(22-of-31, 275 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.4)
Kelly registers a career high with seven touchdowns (he also rushes for 66 yards and two scores) as the Sun Devils cruise to a 55-21 Pac-12 road win over Washington State.

Philip Nelson, Minnesota
(16-of-23, 298 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.6)
Nelson, who records career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns, caps his day by connecting on a 50-yard touchdown pass with 3:06 to go to lift the surging Gophers to a 42-39 Big Ten road victory over Indiana.

Gary Nova, Rutgers
(27-of-38, 371 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.6)
Nova tallies a career-high in passing yards and caps his day by connecting on a 33-yard touchdown pass with 35 seconds to go to lift the Scarlet Knights to a 23-20 comeback victory over Temple.

Terrance Owens, Toledo
(18-of-24, 375 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.2)
Owens registers a season-high in passing yards as he leads the Rockets to a 55-16 MAC victory over Eastern Michigan.

Last week's Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was BYU sophomore standout Taysom Hill, who completed 27-of-41 passes for 339 yards with three touchdowns and no interceptions, in a 37-20 win over Boise State. He added 69 rushing yards and a touchdown on the ground in the win – the Cougars first-ever win over the Broncos. 

The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn's Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season's winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.