Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 3, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (23-of-40, 301 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.4)
Dobbs becomes the first Volunteer quarterback to pass for 300 yards and rush for 100 yards as he sets the school QB record with 166 rushing yards to go with three rushing scores in a 45-42 win over South Carolina in overtime.

Everett Golson, Notre Dame (18-of-25, 315 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 94.0)
Golson becomes the first player in school history with three passing and three rushing TDs in the same game, matching the Notre Dame quarterback record for rushing scores in a 49-39 victory over Navy.

Cody Kessler, USC (21-of-32, 400 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.6)
Kessler registers a career-high in passing yards with his fifth career 300-yard game as he leads the Trojans to a 44-17 Pac-12 road victory over Washington State.

Trevor Knight, Oklahoma (22-of-35, 230 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 92.5)
Knight becomes the first player this season to run and pass for three touchdowns in a game as he adds a career-high 146 rushing yards in a 59-14 win over Iowa State.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon (19-of-30, 258 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.8)
Mariota has another impressive dual-threat game adding 85 rushing yards and two touchdowns in a 45-16 win over Stanford – snapping a two-game losing streak to the Cardinal.

Nick Marshall, Auburn (15-of-22, 254 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.2)
Marshall tallies a season-high in passing yards as well while adding a pair of rushing touchdowns as the Tigers pile up 35 points against the top scoring defense in the country in a 35-31 win over No. 4 Ole Miss.

Johnny McCrary, Vanderbilt (20-of-29, 281 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.6)
McCrary, making his second career start, matches the school record for passing touchdowns in a 42-28 victory over Old Dominion.

Tyler Murphy, Boston College (8-of-15, 110 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.7)
Murphy tallies 122 rushing yards and a touchdown for his fourth 100-yard rushing game of the year in a 33-31 win over Virginia Tech.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.