Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 2, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

David Blough, Purdue (28-of-43, 274 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.7)
Blough, who also rushes for 82 yards and a touchdown, leads the Boilermakers to their first Big Ten home victory in over three seasons as they defeat Nebraska, 55-45.

Trevone Boykin, TCU (32-of-47, 388 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.3)
Boykin also leads the Horned Frogs with 84 rushing yards and a touchdown as TCU picks up a 40-10 victory over West Virginia in Big 12 action.

Jeff Driskel, Louisiana Tech (17-of-26, 320 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.7)
Driskel tallies his fifth 300-yard passing game of the season as the Bulldogs score 28 unanswered points to break open a tight game in a 42-17 Conference USA win over Rice.

Gunnar Kiel, Cincinnati (15-of-15, 319 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.1)
Kiel has the most attempts without an incompletion in the last 20 years in FBS as he leads the Bearcats to a 52-7 victory over UCF in American Athletic action.

Chase Litton, Marshall (33-of-48, 486 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.0)
Litton throws for a career-high 486 yards as he leads the Thundering Herd to its seventh straight victory, 34-10 on the road against C-USA foe Charlotte.

Kyler Murray, Texas A&M (20-of-28, 223 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 90.5)
Murray, who makes his first career start as a true freshman, also runs for a game-high 156 yards and a touchdown as the Aggies defeated South Carolina, 35-28.

Brett Rypien, Boise State (35-of-52, 469 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 78.8)
Rypien registers his career-high in passing yards as he leads the Broncos to 705 yards of offense in a 55-27 Mountain West road victory over UNLV.

Deshaun Watson, Clemson (23-of-30, 383 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.7)
Watson, who also rushes for a touchdown, registers his third 300-yard passing game as the third-ranked Tigers roll to a 56-41 ACC road victory over N.C. State.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and 10 additional quarterbacks were added to the Watch List on October 14, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the honor. The 10 finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.