Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 31, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Josh Allen, Wyoming (18-of-31, 274 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.3)
Allen records a career-high in passing yards and matches his best for TD passes as he leads the Cowboys to a 30-28 upset of No. 13 Boise State, their first win over a Top 25 team since 2002.

Luke Falk, Washington State (33-of-46, 415 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.1)
Falk records his sixth 300-yard game of the year as he connects on three third-quarter touchdowns to help the Cougars erase a 24-6 halftime deficit in a 35-31 Pac-12 road victory over Oregon State.

Quinton Flowers, USF (19-of-29, 219 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.6)
Flowers also rushes for 176 yards and two touchdowns to lead the Bulls to a 52-45 victory over No. 22 Navy in a key American Athletic contest.

Justice Hansen, Arkansas State (21-of-36, 303 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.1)
Hansen, who also runs for a touchdown, sets his career-high for touchdown passes, leading the Red Wolves to an early 28-0 advantage as they pick up their 12th straight Sun Belt victory, 51-10 over UL Monroe.

Justin Herbert, Oregon (31-of-42, 489 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 88.2)
Herbert ties the school single-game record for passing yards and becomes the first Duck ever to exceed 500 yards of total offense (512) as he picks up his first career win, helping Oregon snap a five-game losing streak with a 54-35 Pac-12 victory over Arizona State.

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (24-of-41, 361 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 78.4)
Jackson, who also rushes for 88 yards, connects on a 29-yard touchdown, followed by a two-point conversion, with 13 seconds to go to lift the Cardinals to a 32-25 ACC victory over Virginia on the road.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (26-of-36, 273 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.4)
Rudolph, who also runs for a touchdown, keys the Cowboys 37-20 upset of No. 10 West Virginia, the team’s sixth win over a top-10 team since 2008.

Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech (10-of-14, 264 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.7)
Thomas also rushes for a career-high 195 yards and two touchdowns, including a key 50-yard run with under two minutes to go to clinch a 38-35 ACC victory over Duke.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.