Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 28, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.

VOTE HERE! (Voting link to follow)

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Blake Bortles, UCF
(20-of-24, 286 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 98.3)
Bortles, who also rushes for a score, turns in an outstanding performance in just over one half of action as he leads the Golden Knights to a 62-17 blowout of Connecticut.

David Fales, San Jose State
(27-of-37, 482 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 87.4)
Fales, who piles up huge passing stats, waits for the perfect time for his first rushing touchdown of the season, scoring with eight seconds to go to lift the Spartans to 51-44 Mountain West win over Wyoming.

Garrett Gilbert, SMU
(37-of-53, 538 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 94.4)
Gilbert, who adds 97 rushing yards with two touchdowns, sets a school record with his passing yards and total offense (7th best in FBS history) while helping the Mustangs erase a 21-point deficit in a 59-49 win over Temple.

Taysom Hill, BYU
(27-of-41, 339 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 86.1)
Hill, an under-the-radar sophomore star, turns in another impressive performance as he adds 69 rushing yards and a touchdown in a 37-20 win over Boise State – the Cougars first-ever win over the Broncos.

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
(16-of-20, 223 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 91.8)
Lynch continues to prove himself to be one of the top players in the country as he adds 99 rushing yards and two scores while also catching a touchdown pass in a 59-20 victory over Eastern Michigan.

Braxton Miller, Ohio State
(18-of-24, 252 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 87.5)
Miller, who rushes for 68 yards and two scores in less than three quarters of play, leads the Buckeyes to their most impressive effort of the year as they trounce Penn State, 63-14, the Lions’ worst loss since 1899.

John O’Korn, Houston
(24-of-30, 364 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 87.5)
O’Korn, a true freshman standout, tallies career-highs in touchdowns and passing yards as he leads the Cougars to an impressive American Athletic Conference rout of Rutgers, 49-14.

Connor Shaw, South Carolina
(20-of-29, 201 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR 62.8)
With South Carolina down 17-0 in the third quarter, Shaw shrugs off a sprained knee and enters the game in the third quarter, leading the Gamecocks to scores on their final five possessions as they shock previously-undefeated and fifth-ranked Missouri, 27-24, in two overtimes.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Sean Mannion from Oregon State, who collected the honor for the fourth time this year. Mannion, a Pleasanton, Calif. native, registered very impressive numbers in a 49-17 Pac-12 road victory over California completing 35-of-45 passes for 481 yards with four touchdowns and no interceptions. It marked his fifth 400-yard game of the year while he extended his national lead in touchdown passes.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.