Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 27, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Trevoyne Boykin, TCU
(22-of-39, 433 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 79.3)
Boykin registers a career-high in passing yards while leading the Horned Frogs to the most points in school history as they rout Texas Tech, 82-27, in Big 12 action.

Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky
(23-of-26, 371 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.9)
Doughty throws just three incompletions as he surpasses his own school records for TDs and yards in a season in a 66-51 C-USA victory over Old Dominion.

Garrett Grayson, Colorado State
(18-of-21, 390 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.8)
Grayson completes his first 13 passes of the game as he extends his own school record for touchdown passes while leading the Rams to their sixth straight win, their longest streak since 2002, with a 45-31 win over Wyoming.

Grant Hedrick, Boise State
(24-of-31, 410 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.1)
Hedrick, who adds a rushing touchdown, tallies his career-high in passing yards as he leads the Broncos to their highest-point total of the season in a 55-30 victory over BYU.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(18-of-30, 326 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.4)
Mariota matches his season-high for touchdown passes and becomes the all-time leader in passing yards for Oregon as he leads the Ducks to a 59-41 Pac-12 victory over California.

Nick Marshall, Auburn
(12-of-14, 139 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 99.0)
Marshall also rushes for 89 yards and a career-high three touchdowns as he keys the Tigers in a tight SEC victory over South Carolina, 42-35.

Keenan Reynolds, Navy
(4-of-7, 56 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 77.8)
Reynolds shows off his ability to run the Navy option-offense, tallying a career-high 251 rushing yards and three touchdowns, as the Midshipmen hold off San Jose State, 41-31.

Anu Solomon, Arizona
(26-of-38, 294 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.8)
Solomon, who has thrown for 200-plus yards in seven straight games, leads the Wildcats to scores on their first five possessions as they upend Washington State, 59-37 in Pac-12 road action.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.