Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 26, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (14-of-18, 223 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.0)
Barrett, who makes his first start of the season, also rushes for 101 yards and a pair of touchdowns, as the Buckeyes roll to a 49-7 Big Ten road victory over Rutgers.

Luke Falk, Washington State (47-of-62, 514 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 81.4)
Falk sets a record for the most passing yards ever against Arizona as he registers the sixth 400-yard game of his career in a 45-42 Pac-12 road victory over Arizona.

Matt Johnson, Bowling Green (27-of-40, 430 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.6)
Johnson adds a rushing touchdown while registering his third straight game with five TD passes as the Falcons pile up 602 yards of offense in a 48-0 win over Kent State, which had been leading the MAC in total defense.

Paxton Lynch, Memphis (32-of-44, 447 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.4)
Lynch, who also rushes for a touchdown, tallies his career-high for passing yards while registering his sixth straight 300-yard game as he leads the Tigers to their 14th straight victory, a 66-42 American Athletic win over Tulsa.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (25-of-35, 348 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.3)
Prescott adds a season-best 117 rushing yards and three more touchdowns to his season-high in passing yards as the Bulldogs upend Kentucky 42-16 in SEC action.

Josh Rosen, UCLA (34-of-47, 399 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.1)
Rosen sets a school record for completions as he helps the Bruins snap a two-game losing streak with a 40-24 Pac-12 victory over No. 20 California.

Thomas Sirk, Duke (19-of-39, 270 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 79.3)
Sirk, who also rushes for 109 yards, followed his fourth touchdown pass of the day by running for the game-winning two-point conversion in the fourth overtime of a 45-43 road victory over Virginia Tech; it was the first four-overtime game in ACC history.

Deshaun Watson, Clemson (15-of-19, 143 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 98.9)
Watson, who becomes the first Clemson quarterback to win 11 of his first 12 starts, adds 98 rushing yards and a touchdown while sitting much of the second half as the Tigers hand Miami its worst loss in program history, 58-0, in ACC road action.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and 10 additional quarterbacks were added to the Watch List on October 14, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the honor. The 10 finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.