Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 20, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (19-of-31, 261 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.8)
Barrett adds a career-high 107 rushing yards and two scores (on just seven carries) while leading the Buckeyes to a school-record fourth straight 50-point outing in an impressive 56-17 blowout of Rutgers.

Rakeem Cato, Marshall (15-of-27, 214 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 84.9)
Cato sets an NCAA FBS record by throwing a touchdown pass in his 39th straight game as the Thundering Herd remains perfect with a 45-13 C-USA road win over FIU.

Connor Cook, Michigan State (24-of-32, 332 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.7)
Cook, who registers his fourth career 300-yard passing game, improves to 13-0 against Big Ten foes as the Spartans tally their fifth game of 40-plus points this year in a 56-17 victory over Indiana on the road.

Drew Hare, Northern Illinois (12-of-16, 185 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 96.1)
Hare adds a career-high 180 rushing yards and two touchdowns as the Huskies pick up a key 51-41 MAC victory over Miami (Ohio).

Jaquez Johnson, Florida Atlantic (23-of-34, 325 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.6)
Johnson leads the Owls to 17 unanswered points, including the game-winning 61-yard touchdown pass with 1:23 to go in a 45-38 win over Western Kentucky.

Cody Kessler, USC (19-of-26, 319 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.0)
Kessler sets the school record for TD passes in a game while becoming the first Pac-12 QB to toss seven TDs in three quarters of action as he leads the Trojans to a 56-28 victory over Colorado.

Clint Trickett, West Virginia (23-of-35, 322 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.6)
Trickett tallies his seventh 300-yard game of the year, delivering a pair of fourth-quarter touchdown passes as the Mountaineers shock No. 4 Baylor, 41-27.

Marquise Williams, North Carolina (38-of-47, 390 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 86.6)
Williams also rushes for 73 yards and a touchdown, but saves his best for last, tallying 68 yards on the game-winning drive in the final three minutes of a 48-43 win over Georgia Tech.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.