Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 19, 2020) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jason Bean, North Texas (12-of-17, 181 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.3)
Beane comes off the bench to lead the Mean Green with 169 rushing yards and three more touchdowns as North Texas piles up a school-record 768 yards of offense in a 52-35 C-USA win over Middle Tennessee.

Dillon Gabriel, UCF (35-of-49, 601 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.6)
Gabriel, who also rushes for a touchdown, shatters the school record for passing yards, but it’s not enough as the Knights fall on the road to Memphis, 50-49, in a wild AAC showdown.

Hendon Hooker, Virginia Tech (11-of-15, 111 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 86.7)
Hooker also rushes for a career-high 164 yards and three touchdowns as the Hokies roll to a 40-14 ACC victory over Boston College.

Mac Jones, Alabama (24-of-32, 417 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.7)
Jones tallies his third straight 400-yard game – this one against the No. 1 ranked defense in the country as he leads the Crimson Tide to 24 unanswered points to close a 41-24 SEC win over No. 3 Georgia.

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson (24-of-32, 404 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.0)
Lawrence sets career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns, while playing just one second-half series, as he leads the Tigers to a 73-7 ACC win over Georgia Tech on the road.

Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina (17-of-24, 202 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.3)
McCall, who also runs for a touchdown, directs a final drive for the Chanticleers to set up a game-winning field goal with four seconds to go in a 30-27 Sun Belt road win over No. 21 Louisiana.

Brady White, Memphis (34-of-50, 486 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.0)
White, who also rushes for a touchdown, throws for a pair of touchdowns in the final 3:41 as the Tigers rally from a 21-point deficit (the biggest comeback in school history) to win a wild AAC thriller, 50-49, over UCF.

Zach Wilson, BYU (25-of-35, 400 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.9)
Wilson, who also rushes for 40 yards, throws three TDs in the final 12:53 as the Cougars come from behind for a 43-26 road win over Houston.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Seventy-one players from 65 different schools were honored during the 2019 season and 377 different quarterbacks from 127 schools have been recognized since 2011.