Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 19, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Luke Falk, Washington State (39-of-50, 407 yards, 6 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 90.5)
Falk matches a school record for touchdown passes as the Cougars score on all seven of their first-half possessions in a 52-31 win over Oregon State.

Everett Golson, Florida State (26-of-38, 372 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 77.6)
Golson leads the Seminoles back from a half-time deficit by directing three scoring drives, including connecting on a 70-yard TD to give FSU the lead for good in the third quarter of a 41-21 victory over Louisville which extends its ACC win streak to 27 games.

Matt Johnson, Bowling Green (25-of-30, 357 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.3)
Johnson directs the Falcon offense to its eighth straight game of 500 or more yards, while tallying his fourth career five-TD game, as Bowling Green cruises over Akron, 59-10.

Paxton Lynch, Memphis (39-of-53, 384 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 79.5)
Lynch registers his fifth 300-yard game of the season as he leads the Tigers to a 37-24 upset victory of No. 13 Ole Miss, Memphis’ first victory over a ranked opponent since 1996.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (20-of-27, 282 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.6)
Mayfield sets the tone early, throwing for a touchdown just 1:04 into the game, then continues to a career-high in TD passes (all in the first half) as the Sooners roll to a 55-0 win over Kansas State on the road.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State (30-of-43, 347 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.1)
Prescott, who also leads his team in rushing and scores a touchdown on the ground, tallies his season-best for passing yards as he leads the Bulldogs to a 45-20 victory over Louisiana Tech.

Cooper Rush, Central Michigan (23-of-30, 313 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.1)
Rush, who also rushes for a touchdown, keys a second-quarter burst of 23 straight points as the Chippewas pull away on route to blowing out Buffalo, 51-14, in MAC action.

Seth Russell, Baylor (20-of-33, 380 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.1)
Russell also rushes for a career-high 160 yards, including a touchdown, to become just the second Bear quarterback with a 300/100 game as Baylor extends the nation’s longest home winning streak to 19 games with a 62-38 victory over West Virginia.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and 10 additional quarterbacks were added to the Watch List on October 14, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the honor. The 10 finalists for the Manning Award will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.