Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 17, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (17-of-29, 226 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 69.3)
Barrett, who also rushes for 92 yards and two touchdowns, is sensational in helping the Buckeyes come from behind to defeat No. 8 Wisconsin, as he completes 11-of-15 passes for 199 yards and three touchdowns in the second half and overtime of the critical Big Ten victory on the road.

Eric Dungey, Syracuse (28-of-53, 311 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 60.1)
Dungey, who also rushes for 106 yards and a touchdown, leads the Orange to 561 yards against the nation’s third-ranked defense, as they upset No. 17 Virginia Tech, 31-17, in ACC action for their first win over a ranked team since 2012.

Quinton Flowers, USF (23-of-37, 213 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 90.5)
Flowers, who also rushes for 157 yards and three touchdowns, directs the Bulls to their 11th straight game with 35 or more points as they defeat Connecticut, 42-27, in ACC action.

Ryan Higgins, Louisiana Tech (26-of-33, 484 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.4)
Higgins registers his fourth 400-yard game of the season to lead the Bulldogs to a 56-28 victory over Massachusetts.

Skyler Howard, West Virginia (21-of-31, 318 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 92.6)
Howard also rushes for 89 yards and two touchdowns as the Mountaineers remain undefeated with a 48-17 Big 12 road victory over Texas Tech.

Matt Linehan, Idaho (29-of-36, 476 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.4)
Linehan, who also rushes for a score, records career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns (doubling his season total) as he leads the Vandals to a 55-23 victory over New Mexico State.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (25-of-31, 346 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.2)
Mayfield records his third 300-yard game of the year and sets a season-high for passing touchdowns, including an 88-yard connection with Dede Westbrook as the Sooners cruise to a 38-17 Big 12 win over Kansas State.

Brogan Roback, Eastern Michigan (29-of-39, 347 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.2)
Roback registers a career-high for passing yards and connects on a pair of key fourth-quarter touchdowns to lead the Eagles to a 27-20 road victory over Ohio in MAC action as they improve to 5-2 for the first time since 1995.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.