Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 14, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

David Fales, San Jose State
(28-of-35, 431 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 89.1)
Fales, who tallies his third career 400-yard game, connects on TD passes of 83 and 77 yards before hooking up for a 62-yard connection with 5:36 to play to lift the Spartans to a 34-27 Mountain West road win over Colorado State.

Cody Green, Tulsa
(14-of-17, 226 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.2)
Green also rushes for a critical fourth-quarter touchdown as he turns in an efficient performance in a 34-20 C-USA road win over UTEP.

Brett Hundley, UCLA
(31-of-41, 410 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.9)
Hundley records his career-high in passing yards as the Bruins pull away in the second half for a 37-10 victory over Pac-12 rival California.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
(31-of-39, 346 yards, 0 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 88.7)
Manziel, who injured a knee in the first quarter, isn’t slowed down as he rushes for 124 yards and two touchdowns, including a diving six-yard run late in the fourth quarter and a pair of first-down runs to set up the game-winning field goal in a 41-38 SEC road win over Ole Miss.

Sean Mannion, Oregon State
(34-of-51, 493 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.9)
Mannion sets the Beaver record for passing yards in a game with his fifth consecutive game with 350-plus yards as well as his fifth career 400-yard effort in a 52-24 road win over Washington State.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(24-of-31, 366 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.2)
Mariota continues to give dual-threat nightmares to opponents, this time adding 88 rushing yards and a touchdown to a strong passing down as the Ducks beat No. 16 Washington, 45-24, on the road.

Brett Smith, Wyoming
(19-of-33, 247 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 84.1)
Smith also rushes for 140 yards, his third career game with 100 rushing yards, including two fourth-quarter touchdowns to clinch a Mountain West victory over New Mexico, 38-31.

Davis Webb, Texas Tech
(35-of-56, 415 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 58.5)
Webb, the backup quarterback for the Red Raiders, registers career-highs in nearly every category, including the most passing yards by a Big 12 QB this year, in a tight road win against Iowa State, 42-35, as Texas Tech remains undefeated.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Fresno State quarterback David Carr, who earned the honor for the third time this year. A Bakersfield, Calif., native, he completed 37-of-48 passes for 419 yards with five touchdowns and just one interception in a 61-14 blowout over Idaho on the road.  He tallied 390 of his yards and all of his touchdowns in the first half as the Bulldogs registered their fifth 40-point game of the year.  It was his third 400-yard passing game of the season and in the process he set a new school record for most 300-yard passing games in a career with 14.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.