Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 13, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Reginald Bell Jr., Eastern Michigan
(8-of-13, 144 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 95.8)

Bell, a redshirt freshman, comes off the bench with his team trailing 10-0 and sets the EMU record for rushing yards by a quarterback as he goes for 202 yards and three TDs to lead the Eagles to a 37-27 Homecoming win over Buffalo.

Cody Clements, UAB
(17-of-22, 316 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.0)

Clements tallies his career-high in passing yards while also rushing for a touchdown to lead the Blazers to a 56-21 win over North Texas as the Blazers notch their fourth win, already matching their most wins since 2009.

Fredi Knighten, Arkansas State
(20-of-26, 215 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.2)

Knighten also rushes for 93 yards and a touchdown as the Red Wolves cruise to a 52-10 victory over Georgia State.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(17-of-27, 210 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.2)

Mariota also rushes for 75 yards (on just seven carries) and two touchdowns as he leads the Ducks to a 42-30 blowout victory over No. 18 UCLA on the road.

Tyler Murphy, Boston College
(12-of-19, 101 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 89.3)

Murphy collects his third 100-yard rushing game, collecting 132 yards, on just 15 carries, including two scores, in a 30-14 ACC road win over N.C. State.

Bryce Petty, Baylor
(28-of-55, 510 yards, 6 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 75.7)

After falling behind by 21 early in the fourth quarter, Petty throws for 113 yards and a pair of touchdowns in the final eight minutes as the Bears score 24 unanswered points to shock No. 9 TCU, 61-58.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
(18-of-34, 246 yards, 1 TD, 2 INT, QBR: 83.7)

Prescott leads the Bulldogs to another huge win, adding 121 rushing yards and two more scores in a 38-20 defeat of No. 2 Auburn.

Jameis Winston, Florida State
(30-of-36, 317 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.2)

Winston throws just six incompletions as he directs the Seminoles to their national-best 22nd consecutive victory in a 38-20 road win over Syracuse.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 26 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 12.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.