Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 10, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jake Browning, Washington (22-of-28, 304 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.5)
Browning, who also rushes for two touchdowns, sets a school record for touchdown passes as he helps the Huskies snap a 12-game losing streak to Oregon, leading them to a 70-21 Pac-12 road victory over the Ducks.

Luke Falk, Washington State (30-of-41, 357 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 85.5)
Falk registers his 18th career 300-yard game as he leads the Cougars to a 42-16 win over No. 15 Stanford, their first win over a top-15 team since 2003.

Ryan Higgins, Louisiana Tech (33-of-45, 454 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.1)
Higgins records his third 400-yard game of the season while registering his personal-best for touchdown passes as he leads the Bulldogs to a 55-52 C-USA victory over Western Kentucky.

Nick Holley, Kent State (7-of-13, 89 yards, 0 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 89.4)
Holley runs for 224 yards and ties a school-record by scoring all of his team’s four offensive touchdowns as the Golden Flashes earn a 44-20 MAC road victory over Buffalo.

Trevor Knight, Texas A&M (17-of-34, 239 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 80.1)
Knight adds 110 rushing yards and three rushing touchdowns, including the game-winning score in the second overtime, as the Aggies pick up a critical SEC victory over No. 9 Tennessee, 45-38.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (22-of-31, 390 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 94.3)
Mayfield, who adds a rushing touchdown, overcomes two early interceptions to lead the Sooners to 672 yards of offense as they win a back-and-forth Red River Rivalry battle with Texas, 45-40.

Brett Rypien, Boise State (21-of-28, 391 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.9)
Rypien connects on his seventh career 300-yard game while recording his career-high for touchdown passes as he leads the Broncos to a 49-21 MW road win over New Mexico.

Zach Terrell, Western Michigan (18-of-24, 327 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.0)
Terrell, who adds a rushing touchdown, leads the Broncos to a 45-30 conference victory over six-time defending MAC West champion Northern Illinois as they improve to 6-0 for the first time since 1941.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.