Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 5, 2020) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Myles Brennan, LSU (23-of-37, 337 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 84.8)
Brennan notches his second straight 300-yard game and completes passes to 11 different receivers as he leads the Tigers to a 41-7 SEC victory over Vanderbilt on the road.

Shane Buechele, SMU (32-of-45, 474 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 88.9)
Buechele, who connects on a pair of 70-plus yard catch-and-run scores, completes 5-of-6 passes for 49 yards on the final drive to set up a game-winning field goal with nine seconds to go in a 30-27 AAC win over No. 25 Memphis.

Matt Corral, Ole Miss (24-of-29, 320 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.8)
Corral, who also rushes for 51 yards, notches his second career 300-yard game to go with a career-high in TD passes, including the game-winning delivery in overtime as Ole Miss upended Kentucky, 42-41, in an SEC road game.

Max Duggan, TCU (20-of-30, 231 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.7)
Duggan, who also rushes for a game-high 79 yards and two touchdowns, scores his second TD with four minutes to go to give the Horned Frogs the lead in a thrilling 33-31 Big 12 road victory over No. 9 Texas.

Mac Jones, Alabama (20-of-27, 435 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 94.1)
Jones, who opens his afternoon with a 78-yard touchdown connection and then adds an 87-yard hook-up in the third quarter, tallies a career-high for passing yards and touchdowns as he leads the Crimson Tide to a 52-24 SEC win over No. 13 Texas A&M.

Devin Leary, NC State (28-of-44, 336 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.3)
Leary, making his first start of the season, tallies career-highs in nearly every category and connects on a pair of fourth-quarter touchdown passes, including the go-ahead score with 23 seconds to go as the Wolfpack stuns No. 24 Pittsburgh, 30-29, in an ACC road game.

Zach Smith, Tulsa (17-of-29, 273 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 76.0)
Smith helped the Golden Hurricane erase an 18-point first-half deficit, connecting on the go-ahead TD pass in the fourth quarter and setting up the game-clinching field goal with 1:30 to go as Tulsa shocks No. 11 UCF, 34-26, in an AAC road game.

Zach Wilson, BYU (24-of-26, 325 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.8)
Wilson, who also rushes for 43 yards and a career-high three touchdowns, notches his fifth career 300-yard passing game to lead the Cougars to a 45-14 win over Louisiana Tech for their first 3-0 start since 2014.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Seventy-one players from 65 different schools were honored during the 2019 season and 377 different quarterbacks from 127 schools have been recognized since 2011.