Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 5, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Trevone Boykin, TCU (20-of-35, 332 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.8)
Boykin, who only plays three quarters, leads the Horned Frogs to their 13th straight victory, the second longest streak in the nation, as they roll over Texas, 50-7.

Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky (28-of-38, 409 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.1)
Doughty, who tallies 343 yards and all four of his touchdowns in the first half before sitting much of the second half of a 49-10 road victory over Rice.

Blake Frohnapfel, Massachusetts (32-of-42, 363 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 74.5)
Frohnapfel registers his seventh career 300-yard game as he leads UMass to a 24-14 win over FIU, its first non-conference road win as an FBS school (and its first overall since 2011).

Will Grier, Florida (24-of-29, 271 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.7)
Grier, who was questionable to play in the game due to illness, throws all of his career-high four touchdown passes in the first half as the Gators jump ahead early en route to shocking No. 3 Ole Miss, 38-10.

Nick Mullens, Southern Miss (27-of-36, 325 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 73.7)
Mullens, who also adds a rushing touchdown, tallies his eighth 300-yard passing game as he leads the Golden Eagles to a 49-14 blowout of C-USA rival North Texas.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (34-of-55, 437 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.2)
Rudolph helps the Cowboys erase a 15-point deficit, connecting on a short TD pass with 6:06 to go, then converts a key fourth-down play on the final drive that led to the game-winning field goal with 32 seconds to go in a 36-34 win over previously undefeated Kansas State.

Greg Ward, Jr., Houston (22-of-38, 273 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.4)
Ward breaks the school record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 182, including three touchdowns, as the Cougars pick up an American road victory, 38-24, over Tulsa.

Marquise Williams, North Carolina (13-of-24, 134 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.6)
Rushes for 148 yards and two touchdowns while also catching a 37-yard TD pass in the fourth quarter to put the Tar Heels on top for the first time in 38-31 road win over Georgia Tech.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.