Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 3, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jake Browning, Washington (15-of-21, 210 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.2)
Browning leads the Huskies to scores on seven of their nine possessions as they score the most points against Stanford since the 2012 season in a 44-6 win over the No. 7 Cardinal.

Sam Darnold, USC (23-of-33, 352 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.3)
Darnold, in his second career start, registers his first 300-yard game while also rushing for a touchdown as he directs the Trojans to 34 consecutive points as they roll over previously undefeated Arizona State, 41-20, in Pac-12 action.

Anthony Maddie, Northern Illinois (26-of-41, 298 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 80.0)
Maddie, a senior making his first career start, adds 160 rushing yards, including a 75-yard touchdown run, and leads the Huskies to their first win of the season, a 31-24 road win in MAC action.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (23-of-30, 274 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.8)
Mayfield also adds a pair of rushing touchdowns as the Sooners hold off a late TCU rally in a key 52-46 Big 12 road victory over the No. 21 Horned Frogs.

Nick Mullens, Southern Miss (25-of-36, 591 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 81.6)
Mullens sets a school-record for passing yardage, connecting on touchdowns of 75, 81 and 93 yards, while leading the Golden Eagles to a record 702 yards of total offense in a 44-28 C-USA victory over Rice.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (19-of-28, 392 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.0)
Rudolph registers his eighth career 300-yard game as he leads the Cowboys to a 49-31 win over No. 22 Texas, snapping an eight-game home losing streak to the Longhorns.

Mitch Trubisky, North Carolina (31-of-38, 405 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.3)
Trubisky, who adds a rushing touchdown, tallies his third straight 400-yard game and connects for a 34-yard touchdown strike with 2:31 to go to put the Tar Heels on top before keying a final drive which sets up a game-winning field goal in a 37-35 ACC road victory over No. 12 Florida State.

Greg Ward Jr., Houston (32-of-38, 389 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.6)
Ward, who registers his third 300-yard game of the year, also rushes for 65 yards and a pair of touchdowns as he directs the Cougars to a 42-14 victory over Connecticut in AAC action.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.