Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 30, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Carden, East Carolina
(32-of-47, 376 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 89.8)
Carden, who also runs for three touchdowns, leads the Pirates to a 55-31 win over North Carolina, their first road win over the Tar Heels since 1975.

Brandon Connette, Duke
(20-of-28, 324 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 83.0)
Connette adds two rushing touchdowns to his career-high passing yards and finishes with 379 total yards in a tight 38-31 victory over Troy.

Cody Fajardo, Nevada
(38-of-54, 389 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.0)
Fajardo, who rushes for 81 yards and two TDs, passes and runs for touchdowns in the final six minutes to lead the Wolf Pack to a thrilling 45-2 comeback victory over Air Force.

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
(23-of-34, 351 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.5)
After the Sun Devils fall behind in third quarter, Kelly connects on a 74-yard score to jump start an offense which proceeds to score the most points ever against USC in a 62-41 Pac-12 win.

Sean Mannion, Oregon State
(27-of-52, 414 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 48.8)
Mannion sets a school record for passing touchdowns while tallying his third 400-yard game of the year in leading the Beavers to their fourth straight victory, 44-17 over Colorado.

Aaron Murray, Georgia
(20-of-34, 298 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 82.6)
Murray, who also rushes for a touchdown, throws the game-winning TD pass with 1:47 to go to cap another strong week, this time leading the Bulldogs to a win over sixth-ranked LSU, 44-41, while also passing Peyton Manning for career passing yards.

John O’Korn, Houston
(24-of-36, 312 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.7)
O’Korn, a true freshman making his second career start, helped the Cougars break open a tie-game in the second half as he sets career-highs in essentially all categories in a 59-28 win over UTSA.

Jameis Winston, Florida State
(17-of-27, 330 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 92.8)
Winston, who also rushes for a career-high 67 yards, throws three second-quarter TD passes to help the Seminoles erase a 17-3 deficit en route to a 48-34 road win over Boston College.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Fresno State star Derek Carr, who led the Bulldogs to a critical 41-40 win over rival Boise State. The Bakersfield, Calif., native, registered his fifth career 400-yard game to set the school and Mountain West records for 400-yard passing games in a career. He completed 39-of-60 passes for 460 yards with four touchdowns and no interceptions.  The game-winning drive came with 2:14 to go as Carr completed 8-of-11 passes for 63 yards to set up a 1-yard run by Josh Quezada.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.