Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 29, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Trevone Boykin, TCU (23-of-36, 280 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.0)
Boykin adds two rushing touchdowns, as the Horned Frogs remain undefeated with a 56-0 victory over SMU in the “Battle for the Iron Skillet.”

Jared Goff, California (23-of-41, 449 yards, 7 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.6)
Goff outduels Colorado’s Sefo Liufau, who threw seven touchdown passes of his own, as the Golden Bears beat the Buffaloes 59-56 in double-overtime.

Austin Grammer, Middle Tennessee (25-of-30, 259 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.5)
Grammer rushes for two more touchdowns to add to his career-high 25 completions in the 41-28 Conference USA win over Old Dominion.

Kenny Hill, Texas A&M (21-of-41, 386 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 76.6)
Hill throws two touchdown passes in the 4th quarter and another in overtime to lead the Aggies back from 14 down after three quarters against Arkansas to cap off the 35-28 SEC West victory.

Brett Hundley, UCLA (18-of-23, 355 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Returning from an elbow injury, Hundley adds 72 yards and a touchdown on the ground as he leads the Bruins to a 62-27 road win over the 15th ranked Sun Devils.

Jaquez Johnson, Florida Atlantic (24-of-34, 295 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 79.5)
Johnson rushes for a touchdown and connects with tight end Nate Terry on the game-winning score with 20-seconds remaining in the Owls 41-37 victory over UTSA.

Gary Nova, Rutgers (14-of-21, 291 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.6)
Nova becomes Rutgers career leader in touchdown passes in the 31-6 win over Tulane, including a 93-yard touchdown pass to Andrew Turzilli.

Deshaun Watson, Clemson (27-of-36, 435 yards, 6 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 94.7)
Watson sets the school record for touchdown passes as he leads the Tigers to a 50-35 ACC win over North Carolina in his first career start.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 26 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 12.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.