Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 23, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Terrance Broadway, UL-Lafayette
(25-of-37, 305 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 82.8)
Broadway, who also rushes for a pair of touchdowns, runs and passes for scores in the fourth quarter as the Ragin’ Cajuns erase a 24-21 deficit in a 35-30 road victory over Akron.

Derek Carr, Fresno State
(39-of-60, 460 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.7)
Carr registers his fifth career 400-yard game (setting the school and Mountain West records), completing 8-of-11 passes on the game-winning drive as the Bulldogs score with 2:14 to go in a critical 41-40 win over Mountain West power Boise State.

Sean Mannion, Oregon State
(38-of-55, 367 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 66.9)
Mannion throws two fourth-quarter touchdown passes and registers his fourth straight 350-yard game as the Beavers come from behind to beat San Diego State, 34-30, on the road.

Aaron Murray, Georgia
(22-of-30, 408, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.1)
Murray posts the third 400-yard game of his career and also runs for a touchdown as his offensive outburst overcomes special teams issues in a 45-21 victory over North Texas.

Gary Nova, Rutgers
(22-of-43, 346 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 28.5)
After a rough start, Nova leads the Scarlet Knights to three unanswered touchdowns to close the game as Rutgers comes from behind to hand Arkansas its first loss of the year, 28-24.

Bryce Petty, Baylor
(18-of-27, 351 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Petty, playing just over one half of football, registers his third straight 300-yard game while tossing a career best for touchdown passes, as the Bears score at least 69 points for the third straight game in a 70-7 win over UL-Monroe.

Tom Savage, Pittsburgh
(23-of-33, 424 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.6)
Savage ties an ACC record with six touchdown passes and sets his personal career-high in passing yards; and the Panthers need them all as they barely hold off Duke, 58-55, in a shootout on the road.

Brett Smith, Wyoming
(35-of-41, 373 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.0)
Smith also rushes for 138 yards and a TD as he sets the school record for total offense while becoming the Cowboys’ all-time leader in touchdown passes in a 56-23 win over Air Force.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Oregon State junior Sean Mannion, who completed 27-of-44 passes for 443 yards with five touchdowns and no interceptions in a thrilling 51-48 Pac-12 road victory over Utah. Mannion converted a pair of critical fourth downs in the fourth quarter and then threw the game-winning pass in overtime, marking his career high for yards and touchdowns. He was also named the Pac-12 Player of the Week for the third time in his career.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.