Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 22, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Carden, East Carolina
(30-of-48, 438 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 74.6)
Carden has his second straight 400-yard game, both coming in victories over ACC opponents, as he leads the Pirates to an impressive 70-41 victory over state-rival North Carolina.

Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
(27-of-43, 430 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.0)
Heinicke, who also rushes for a touchdown, connects on a 45-yard pass in the final seconds to set up the Monarch’s game-winning field goal in a 45-42 Conference USA road win over Rice.

Taysom Hill, BYU
(13-of-23, 187 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.8)
Hill, who adds 72 rushing yards and another touchdown, keys the Cougars’ improvement to 4-0 by directing them to a 41-33 victory over Virginia.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(21-of-25, 329 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.7)
Mariota, who continues his dual-threat excellence with 58 rushing yards, caps his day with a six-yard TD pass with 5:33 to go to lift the Ducks to a 38-31 Pac-12 road victory over Washington State.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
(15-of-24, 268 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.7)
Prescott adds 105 rushing yards and another touchdown as he leads the Bulldogs to a 34-29 upset victory over No. 8 LSU on the road – snapping Mississippi State’s 14-game losing streak in the series with the Tigers.

Blake Sims, Alabama
(23-of-33, 445 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 88.8)
Sims throws for the second-most yards in Alabama history and also sets a career-best in TD passes as he leads the Crimson Tide to a 42-21 SEC victory over Florida.

Anu Solomon, Arizona
(47-of-73, 520 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 54.7)
Solomon sets school records for yards, completions and attempts as he leads the Wildcats to 36 fourth-quarter points, including a final-second Hail Mary TD pass in a miraculous 49-45 victory over California.

Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech
(7-of-18, 125 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 87.9)
Thomas, who adds 165 rushing yards and a touchdown, tosses a 31-yard TD pass to knot the game at 24 with 2:03 to go, then drives the Yellow Jackets into position for the game-winning field goal in a 27-24 upset of Virginia Tech.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 26 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 12.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.