Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 21, 2015) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jake Browning, Washington (22-of-31, 368 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 90.7)
Making his third career start, Browning set a school-record for passing yards by a freshman, connecting on two of his three touchdowns in the third quarter as the Huskies pulled away for a 31-17 win over Utah State.

Kevin Hogan, Stanford (18-of-23, 279 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Hogan, who plays the second half on an injured leg, steps up with an outstanding performance as the unranked Cardinal go on the road and shock No. 6 USC, 41-31, in Pac-12 action.

Chad Kelly, Ole Miss (18-of-33, 341 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.0)
Kelly, who also rushes for a touchdown, is exceptional in his first career road game as he directs the Rebels to 433 yards of offense in a critical SEC West road victory over No. 2 Alabama, 43-37.

Greyson Lambert, Georgia (24-of-25, 330 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Lambert sets an FBS record for completion percentage, at one point completing a school-record 20 straight passes as the Bulldogs crush South Carolina, 52-20.

Paxton Lynch, Memphis (29-of-40, 386 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.5)
For the second straight week, Lynch established a career-high in passing yards as he keyed the potent Tiger offense which came from behind to defeat Bowling Green, 44-41, on the road.

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (32-of-38, 487 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.8)
Mayfield sets the school record for total offense (572 yards) while also rushing for 85 yards and two more touchdowns as the Sooners overcome Tulsa, 52-38.

Brent Stockstill, Middle Tennessee (23-of-27, 369 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.0)
Stockstill sets a career-best in touchdown passes while leading the Blue Raiders to their second most points in school history, and their most since 1927, as they cruise over Charlotte, 73-14.

Nate Sudfeld, Indiana (20-of-27, 355 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.8)
Sudfeld has his most passing yards in two seasons while leading the Hoosiers to a 38-35 win over Western Kentucky as Indiana improves to 3-0 for the first time since 2010.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, December 2 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 11.

In its first 11 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 10 different schools and from four different conferences. One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes into account the quarterbacks bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Ten of the 11 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor; the lone loss was by Colt McCoy in the 2010 BCS Championship game when he suffered an early injury. In addition to McCoy, six other Manning honorees (Matt Leinart, Vince Young, Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, Jameis Winston and Marcus Mariota) led their teams to the national championship game (BCS or CFP).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-two players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2014 season.