Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 16, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Blake Bell, Oklahoma
(27-of-37, 413 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.7)
Making his first career start, Bell is exceptional, leading the Sooners to scores on their first five possessions in a 51-20 win over in-state rival Tulsa – Oklahoma totaled just 50 points in its first two games.

Kenny Guiton, Ohio State
(21-of-32, 276 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.5)
Guiton, filling in for injured starter Braxton Miller, also rushes for 92 yards as the Buckeyes go on the road to defeat California, 52-34.

Sean Mannion, Oregon State
(27-of-44, 443 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.9)
Mannion converts a pair of critical fourth downs in the fourth quarter, then throws the game-winning touchdown in overtime, as he finishes with career-highs for yards and touchdowns in a 51-48 Pac-12 road victory over Utah.

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
(28-of-39, 464 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 74.0)
Despite losing, Manziel, who also rushes for 98 yards, sets a school-record for passing yards and leads the Aggies to the most points scored against a Nick Saban-coached Alabama team in a 49-42 thriller in College Station.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(23-of-33, 456 yards, 4 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 97.5)
The sensational sophomore registers his career-high for passing yards, as well as the third-most in school history, and also runs for a touchdown as the Ducks crush SEC-foe Tennessee, 59-14.

AJ McCarron, Alabama
(20-of-29, 334 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.8)
McCarron sets a career-high for passing yards and matches his most TD passes as the Crimson Tide holds off Texas A&M, 49-42, for a critical SEC West road victory.

Keith Price, Washington
(28-of-35, 342 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.7)
Price leads the Huskies to their first non-conference road win with his most passing yards since 2011 in a 34-24 win over Illinois.

Joe Southwick, Boise State
(27-of-29, 287 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 98.8)
Southwick sets the school record for completion percentage as he leads the Broncos to a 42-20 Mountain West win over Air Force.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Georgia senior Aaron Murray. A Tampa, Fla., native, Murray completed 17-of-23 passes for 309 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions in a critical 41-30 victory over No. 6 South Carolina. To cap one of the best games of his career, he tossed an 85-yard touchdown pass to ice the victory. Murray’s four touchdown passes put him at 99 for his career which is second all-time in the SEC.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.