Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 15, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Shane Carden, East Carolina
(23-of-47, 427 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.6)
Carden not only registers his fourth career 400-yard game, but he also sets the school-record for career TD passes and runs for the game-winning touchdown in the final seconds of a 28-21 upset of No. 17 Virginia Tech on the road.

Rakeem Cato, Marshall
(17-of-29, 425 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.2)
Cato tallies his fifth career 400-yard game, collecting 77 of those yards on a third-quarter touchdown strike for his 100th career passing touchdown, as the Thundering Herd remains perfect with a 44-14 win over Ohio.

Gunner Kiel, Cincinnati
(25-of-37, 418 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.4)
Kiel makes his long-awaited collegiate debut with a dazzling performance, throwing a 52-yard completion on his first pass and tying the Cincinnati record for touchdown passes, while leading the Bearcats to a 58-34 victory over Toledo in their season-opener.

Bryce Petty, Baylor
(23-of-34, 416 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.5)
Petty is exceptional in his return from a back injury, completing his first nine passes and leading the Bears to a 63-21 road win over Buffalo while tallying his second career 400-yard game in three quarters of action.

Cody Sokol, Louisiana Tech
(20-of-31, 243 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INTs, QBR: 86.1)
Sokol, making his third start, more than doubles his career touchdown total, throwing for three scores in the second quarter alone as the Bulldogs pull away from North Texas for a 42-21 Conference USA road win.

Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech
(11-of-24, 188 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.7)
Thomas adds 137 rushing yards and another touchdown while tossing the game-winning TD pass with 23 seconds to go as the Yellow Jackets recover to top state-rival Georgia Southern, 42-38.

Clint Trickett, West Virginia
(37-of-49, 511 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 87.1)
Trickett drives the Mountaineers 65 yards in the final 2:35 to set up the game-winning field goal while also tallying his first career 500-yard performance in a thrilling back-and-forth win over Maryland, 40-37.

Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
(23-of-28, 316 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.4)
Wallace sets the tone for the Rebels by completing his first 14 passes as he registers his 10th 300-yard passing game while moving into second all-time in TD passes for Ole Miss in a 56-15 win over UL-Lafayette.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 26 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 12.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.