Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 13, 2021) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 424 different quarterbacks from 129 schools have been recognized. Seventy-three players from 66 different schools were honored during the 2020 season.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Christian Anderson, Army (5-of-6, 77 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 85.7)
Anderson, who also rushes 22 times for a career-high 119 yards, leads the Black Knights to a 38-35 victory over Western Kentucky as Army picks up its 11th straight home victory.

Brennan Armstrong, Virginia (27-of-36, 405 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.9)
Armstrong, who has career-highs in completions, yards and touchdowns, becomes the second quarterback in Cavalier history to throw for 400 yards with five TDs in a game as he leads Virginia to a 42-14 victory over Illinois.

Anthony Brown, Oregon (17-of-35, 236 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 77.7)
Brown, who also rushes for 65 yards, completes 12 passes for first downs as he directs the Duck offense to an impressive road upset of No. 3 Ohio State, Oregon’s first win over the Buckeyes in 10 attempts.

Max Duggan, TCU (17-of-31, 234 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 66.3)
Duggan, who also rushes for 71 yards, connects on a 45-yard fourth-quarter touchdown pass and then runs for a nine-yard score as the Horned Frogs come from behind for a 34-32 win over California.

Seth Henigan, Memphis (22-of-33, 417 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.6)
Henigan, a true freshman making his first career start against an FBS opponent, threw for the eighth-most yards in Tiger history and connected a 75-yard TD pass in the fourth quarter to lead Memphis to a wild 55-50 win over Arkansas State.

Tanner McKee, Stanford (16-of-23, 234 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.7)
McKee, making his first career start for the Cardinal, sets career-bests in nearly all categories while adding a rushing touchdown as Stanford shocks No. 14 USC, 42-28, in a key Pac-12 road game, the 100th all-time meeting between the two schools.

N’Kosi Perry, FAU (19-of-27, 332 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 81.1)
Perry, who records his second career 300-yard game, tosses three of his four TDs in the third quarter as the Owls pull away from Georgia Southern, 38-6.

Terry Wilson, New Mexico (26-of-37, 381 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 49.2)
Wilson, who sets career-highs in nearly every category in his Lobo debut, throws for the most yards at New Mexico since 2003 while also connecting on a 58-yard fourth-quarter touchdown pass to give the Lobos the margin they needed in a 34-25 win over state-rival New Mexico State.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.