Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 9, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Devin Gardner, Michigan
(21-of-33, 294 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 87.9)*
Gardner, who also rushes for a game-high 82 yards and a touchdown, ices the game with a TD pass with 4:18 to go and a key third-down run in a 41-30 victory over No. 14 Notre Dame.

Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
(19-of-25, 357 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.5)*
Johnson tallies his first career 300-yard game with an efficient performance (18.8 yards per completion) in a 41-22 MAC road win over Kent State.

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
(32-of-40, 360 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 90.9)*
Keeton matches his own school-record with five touchdown passes and also rushes for 77 yards to finish with 433 yards of total offense in a 52-20 blowout of Air Force.

Sean Mannion, Oregon State
(31-of-43, 372 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 86.8)*
With the score tied at 14 at the half, Mannion throws back-to-back touchdowns on route to his 10th career 300-yard game and a 33-14 win over Hawaii.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(14-of-28, 199 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.0)*
Mariota also rushes for 122 yards, including a 71-yard touchdown to open the scoring, as the Ducks go on the road to crush Virginia, 59-10.

Zach Mettenberger, LSU
(16-of-19, 282 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.6)*
Mettenberger tallies an LSU record five touchdown passes in three quarters of action in a 56-17 blowout win over UAB.

Aaron Murray, Georgia
(17-of-23, 309 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INTs, QBR: 92.9)*
Murray turns in one of the best games of his career, capping his day with an 85-yard touchdown pass, as he leads Georgia to a critical 41-30 victory over No. 6 South Carolina.

J.T. Walsh, Oklahoma State
(24-of-27, 326 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.1)*
Walsh sets the school record for completion percentage (min. 20 attempts) and also adds a rushing score in a 56-35 win over UTSA.

Last week’s Manning Award Quarterback of the Week was Fresno State’s Derek Carr. A Bakersfield, Calif., native, Carr passed for 456 yards with 52-of-73 completions for five touchdowns and one interception in a 52-51 overtime victory against Rutgers. He was also named the Mountain West Offensive Player of the Week and the Phillips 66 MW Athlete of the Week by CBS Sports Network.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


* – QBR stands for ESPN’s new Total Quarterback Rating, which has been rolled out for the 2013 college football season.