Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 8, 2014) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington
(31-of-46, 475 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT)
Adams tallies a career-high in passing yards and sets a school record for touchdown passes, as well as the Washington opponent record for TD passes, but it’s not enough for the FCS Eagles, who fall to the Huskies, 59-52.

Grant Hedrick, Boise State
(22-of-33, 352 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 88.7)
Hedrick has a big day for the Broncos in a 37-24 Mountain West win over Colorado State, adding 80 rushing yards and another TD to his impressive passing stats.

Trevor Knight, Oklahoma
(21-of-34, 299 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 88.7)
Knight leads the Sooners to an in-state road victory over Tulsa, 52-7, adding 35 rushing yards and a TD on the ground.

Wes Lunt, Illinois
(35-of-50, 456 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 80.5)
Lunt’s career-high in passing yards leads the Fighting Illini as they overcome a six-point second-half deficit in a 42-34 victory against a strong Western Kentucky squad.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
(17-of-28, 318 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 80.4)
Mariota, who also rushes for 42 yards, leads the Ducks to 28 unanswered points as they come from behind in the second half to rout No. 7 Michigan State, 46-27.

Maty Mauk, Missouri
(21-of-32, 325 yards, 5 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 79.0)
Mauk, who also runs for a touchdown, tallies a career-high for passing yards while matching his most TD passes, as Missouri blows out Toledo, 49-24.

Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
(12-of-25, 211 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 78.7)
Prescott, who becomes the first QB in MSU history with four TD passes and 100 rushing yards (111) breaks open a tight game with three third-quarter touchdowns (two passing and one rushing) in a 47-34 victory over UAB.

Jake Waters, Kansas State
(16-of-29, 239 yards, 0 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 75.2)
Waters, who rushes for a game-high 138 yards and two scores, helps the Wildcats erase a 15-point deficit, running for the game-winning touchdown with 1:30 remaining in a 32-28 victory over Iowa State in their Big 12 opener.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 26 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 12.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.