Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 7, 2021) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 424 different quarterbacks from 129 schools have been recognized. Seventy-three players from 66 different schools were honored during the 2020 season.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jack Coan, Notre Dame (26-of-35, 366 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 76.9)
Coan, who registers career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns, sets the Notre Dame record for passing yards in a debut as the Fighting Irish defeat Florida State on the road, 41-38 in overtime.

Will Levis, Kentucky (18-of-26, 367 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 82.9)
In just over three quarters of action, Levis tallies career-highs in nearly every category while setting the Kentucky record for passing yards in a debut, finding 10 different receivers as Kentucky rolls over UL Monroe, 45-10.

Chris Reynolds, Charlotte (19-of-30, 324 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 72.5)
Reynolds, who tallies his fourth career 300-yard game while also running for a touchdown, connects on an 11-yard TD pass with 33 seconds to go to lift the 49ers to a 31-28 victory over Duke – Charlotte’s first-ever win over a Power Five team.

Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati (20-of-25, 295 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.1)
Ridder, who also runs for a 23-yard touchdown, throws an 81-yard TD pass on the second play from scrimmage as the Bearcats roll to a 49-14 victory over Miami (Ohio) in the 125th all-time meeting between the two state rivals.

Will Rogers, Mississippi State (39-of-47, 370 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 44.6)
Rogers, who records his third career 300-yard game while matching his career-best for TD passes, completes all 10 of his fourth-quarter passes for 128 yards and, including a 15-yard TD pass with 3:37 to go, to cap a 21-0 Bulldog run to close the game in a 35-34 comeback win over Louisiana Tech.

C.J. Stroud, Ohio State (13-of-22, 294 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 85.6)
Stroud settles down in his first career start, throwing for 246 yards and all four of his TDs (covering 38, 56, 70 and 61 yards) in the second half as he rallies the Buckeyes for a 45-31 season-opening Big Ten victory over Minnesota on the road.

Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland (26-of-36, 332 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 71.3)
Tagovailoa, who notches his second career 300-yard game, connects on a 60-yard touchdown pass with 6:25 to go in the game to give the Terrapins a nine-point advantage as they hold off West Virginia, 30-24.

Bryce Young, Alabama (27-of-38, 344 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.2)
Young sets school-records for passing yards and touchdowns for a first-time starting quarterback as he leads the top-ranked Crimson Tide to a 44-13 rout of Miami in Atlanta.

While the Manning Award selected 32 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Mac Jones, Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) have each had two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.