Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 3, 2013) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Friday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington
(23-of-30, 411 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.0)*
Adams also rushes for two touchdowns as the Eagles shock Oregon State, 49-46, becoming just the third FCS school to defeat a ranked FBS program.

Tajh Boyd, Clemson
(18-of-30, 270 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 78.6)*
Boyd also rushes for a pair of scores as he leads the Tigers to a critical 38-35 victory over Georgia in the only opening weekend match-up between top 10 teams.

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
(23-of-28, 355 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.2)*
Bridgewater threw two touchdowns before his first incomplete pass and matched his career-high for TD passes in a 49-7 rout of Ohio.

Derek Carr, Fresno State
(52-of-73, 456 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 82.2)*
Carr stars in a wild 52-51 overtime victory against Rutgers, tallying the 10th 300-yard game of his career, breaking the Mountain West record for completions and tossing a 25-yard TD to clinch the win.

Baker Mayfield, Texas Tech
(43-of-60, 413 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 78.5)*
Believed to be the first true freshman walk-on to start a season-opener for a BCS school, Mayfield throws for four scores and runs for another as the Red Raiders cruise to a 41-23 victory over SMU.

Corey Robinson, Troy
(30-of-32, 319 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 91.9)*
Robinson sets the NCAA record for accuracy (minimum 30 completions) and becomes the Sun Belts career leader in passing yards and completions in a 34-31 win over UAB.

Jameis Winston, Florida State
(25-of-27, 356 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.3)*
Winston has one of the top debuts in Florida State history as the redshirt freshman is near-perfect tallying five touchdowns in a 41-13 ACC road victory to open the season.

Connor Wood, Colorado
(33-of-46, 400 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.8)*
Trailing entering the fourth quarter, Wood leads the Buffaloes to a 41-27 win over Colorado State, capping the day with a 75-yard TD connection – after opening the game with an 82-yard scoring strike.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 10th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. McCoy was followed by top-two NFL Draft picks – Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall by the Carolina Panthers and then Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, was the 2012 winner prior to being the No. 2 overall pick by the Washington Redskins. This past season’s winner was Texas A&M star Johnny Manziel, who became the first freshman to earn the honor.


* – QBR stands for ESPN’s new Total Quarterback Rating, which has been rolled out for the 2013 college football season.