Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 19, 2016) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Manning Award Website

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Tommy Armstrong Jr., Nebraska (17-of-33, 200 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 71.7)
Armstrong also rushes for 95 yards, including a 34-yard touchdown with three minutes remaining to lift the Cornhuskers to a 35-32 upset of No. 22 Oregon.

Lamar Jackson, Louisville (13-of-20, 216 yards, 1 TD, 1 INT, QBR: 97.6)
Jackson continues his sensational start, adding 146 rushing yards and four touchdowns on the ground, as the Cardinals shock No. 2 Florida State, 63-20.

Brad Kaaya, Miami (21-of-27, 368 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 98.2)
Kaaya leads the Hurricanes to points on their first four possessions as they jump out to a 24-0 lead en route to a 45-10 road victory over Appalachian State.

Patrick Mahomes, Texas Tech (26-of-36, 470 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.4)
Mahomes tallies his fourth straight game with more than 470 passing yards as he leads the Red Raiders to a 59-45 victory over Louisiana Tech.

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (26-of-46, 540 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 68.0)
Rudolph, who completes nine passes for 20 yards or more, sets the school record for passing yards as he leads the Cowboys to a 45-38 victory over Pittsburgh.

Cooper Rush, Central Michigan (20-of-33, 352 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.7)
Rush sets a stadium record for touchdown passes and surpasses the 10,000-yard mark for his career as he leads the Chippewas to a 44-21 win over UNLV.

Davis Webb, California (27-of-40, 396 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.6)
Webb, who also runs for a fourth-quarter touchdown, breaks a tie game with a 12-yard TD strike with 4:06 to go as the Golden Bears upset No. 11 Texas, 50-43.

Thomas Woodson, Akron (21-of-32, 379 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.5)
Woodson, who also adds a rushing touchdown, registers his second 300-yard game of the year as he leads the Zips to a 65-38 road victory over Marshall.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, November 30 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship game on Monday, January 9.

In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson was the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).

All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.