Oregon’s Justin Herbert Earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 12, 2019) – Justin Herbert, a senior from the University of Oregon, has been selected as the Week 2 Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting

Herbert tallied his sixth 300-yard game and his second five-TD game in less than three quarters, as the Ducks cruised to a 77-6 win over Nevada. The Eugene, Ore., native completed 19-of-26 passes for 310 yards and five touchdowns.

The two-time Academic All-American owns a streak of 30 consecutive games with a touchdown pass. Herbert entered the 2019 season ranked fifth among active FBS passing touchdown leaders with 63 and eighth in passing yards with over 7,000 accumulated.

The Ducks will host Montana on Saturday, Sept. 14, at 6:45 p.m. CT on the Pac-12 Network.

Herbert’s top competitors this week were Elijah Sindelar from Purdue and North Carolina’s Sam Howell. Sindelar, who also rushed for a touchdown, completed 34-of-52 passes with career-highs of 509 yards and five tocuhdowns as the Boilermakers defeated Vanderbilt, 42-24. Howell, a true freshman, was 16-of-24 for 274 yards and completed a late-game 20-yard pass on 4th-and-17 to set up his game-winning touchdown pass with 1:01 to go as the Tar Heels came from behind to upset Miami, 28-25, in ACC action.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.