Utah’s Tyler Huntley Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 7, 2019) – Tyler Huntley, a senior from the University of Utah, has been selected as the week-ten Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest. This is his first time winning the award.

Facebook Voting 

The Utes overcame a second-quarter, 11-point deficit to Washington sparked by a Huntley touchdown pass to beat the Huskies 33-28. Huntley completed 19-of-24 passes for 284 yards and a touchdown. The quarterback was also able to use his feet, as he rushed for a touchdown early in the fourth quarter, capping a nine-play, 82-yard drive that included a 41-yard completion.

The victory keeps Utah’s Pac-12 championship and College Football Playoff hopes alive, as the Utes sit in first place in the Pac-12 South and rank eighth in the College Football Playoff’s first poll of the season.

The all-conference candidate, who saw his junior year get cut short due to injury, currently ranks fifth in the FBS and first in the Pac-12 in completion percentage at 73.8 percent. The Dania, Fla., native has over 6,300 yards passing and an additional 1,091 yards on the ground for a total of 7,412 yards and 53 touchdowns in his career.

Utah is idle this week, but returns to action on November 16, when they play a revitalized UCLA team that currently sits in second in the Pac-12 South.

Huntley won this week’s competition over quarterbacks who also had key week-ten victories including Brady White from Memphis and Mason Fine from North Texas. White helped Memphis complete the upset over No. 15 SMU. He was 19-of-33 for 350 yards and 3 touchdowns. Fine was 24-of-39, for 332 yards and seven touchdowns in UNT’s Conference-USA win over UTEP.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks were added to the mid-season Watch List last week. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.