Indiana’s Peyton Ramsey Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 31, 2019) – Peyton Ramsey, a redshirt junior from Indiana University, has been selected as the week-nine Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win in the closest vote this season, beating out Kansas State’s Skylar Thompson and six other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest. This is his first time winning the award.

Facebook Voting

Ramsey helped lead the Hoosiers to bowl eligibility for the first time since 2016 with a 38-31 Big Ten road victory over Nebraska. Ramsey went 27-of-40 for 351 yards, two touchdowns, and one interception on the day. In addition, the redshirt junior made use of his feet, tacking on a rushing score late in the first quarter. Ramsey was starting for just the third time this season in place of injured Michael Phenix, Jr. His 351 passing yards marked a career-high.

The Cincinnati, Ohio, native has posted over 1,000 passing-yards on the season, including eight touchdowns and a QBR of 75.9 which ranks 18th in the nation. Over the course of his career, Ramsey has accumulated over 5,000 passing yards and 37 touchdowns. As a freshman, Ramsey was recognized with Big Ten All-Freshman and Academic All-Big Ten honors.

Indiana returns to Bloomington on Saturday, as they host Northwestern at 6:00 p.m. CT on FS1.

Ramsey edged Kansas State’s Skylar Thompson, whose career-day led to the upset of the weekend, a 48-41 victory over fifth-ranked Oklahoma. Thompson was 18-of-28 for 213 yards and four rushing touchdowns. TCU fans also turned out strong to support third-place finisher Max Duggan. Duggan broke a 20-20 third quarter tie with a 44-yard touchdown pass, and later sealed the 37-27 upset over No. 15 Texas with an 11-yard touchdown run. On the day he went 19-of-27 for 273 yards, two touchdowns, and one interception.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks were added to the mid-season Watch List last week. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.