Oregon’s Justin Herbert Again Named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 24, 2019) – Justin Herbert, a senior from the University of Oregon, has been selected as the week eight Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest. This is his second time winning the award this season.

Facebook Voting

Herbert was able to keep the Ducks’ playoff hopes alive this week, as he rallied his team to a comeback win over Washington. Oregon, down 28-14 early in the second half, was led to victory on the arm of two Herbert second-half touchdown passes. The Eugene, Ore., native completed 24-of-38 passes for 280 yards and four touchdowns in the Pac-12 rivalry game.

Since earning the Quarterback of the Week honor in week two, Herbert has continued to post big numbers. The 6-foot-6 senior’s streak of 30 consecutive games with a touchdown pass has increased to 35. On the season, he has over 1,800 passing yards to accompany a passing percentage of 68.1%. Impressively, he has only thrown one interception on the year.

The Ducks return to Eugene on Saturday as they host Washington State at 9:30 p.m. CT on ESPN.

Other quarterbacks with impressive week eight performances include Jalen Hurts of Oklahoma and Memphis’ Brady White. Hurts was 16-of-17 for 316 yards and three touchdowns with a QBR of 98.8. Hurts also ran for 75 yards and two touchdowns to record his fifth four-TD game of the season, as he led the Sooners to a 52-14 Big 12 win over West Virginia. White helped the Tigers to a key 47-17 win over Tulane, completing 21-of-29 for 358 yards and five touchdowns. That game marked his fifth career 300-yard game and his third five-TD performance.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks will be added to the mid-season Watch List later today. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.