Kentucky’s Lynn Bowden Jr. Earns Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (December 4, 2019) – Lynn Bowden, Jr., a junior from the University of Kentucky, has been selected as the week-14 Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest. This is the second time Bowden has received the award this season; he previously won in week seven. Bowden joins Oregon’s Justin Herbert and Washington State’s Anthony Gordon as the only quarterbacks to earn Manning Award Quarterback of the Week twice this season.

Facebook Voting

Bowden, the wide receiver who turned quarterback to fill a mid-season injury gap, had as many passing yards as rushing touchdowns in Kentucky’s 45-13 win over Louisville for the Governor’s Cup. The in-state rivalry game saw Bowden rush 22 times for 284 yards and four touchdowns while completing one pass for four yards. Bowden set an SEC single-game record for rushing yards by a quarterback. His career-high four touchdowns included third-quarter runs of 46 and 60 yards, the latter a career-long.

The Youngstown, Ohio, native was also named SEC Offensive Player of the Week. Bowden is the only player in the nation leading his team in both rushing and receiving yards this season. He has 330 passing yards, 1,235 rushing yards, and 348 passing yards in 2019. He averages an SEC-leading 153 all-purpose yards per game and ranks second nationally with 8.2 yards per carry.

Kentucky has a 5-2 record since Bowden took over at quarterback. Last Saturday’s win improved the Wildcats’ record to 7-5. Kentucky is bowl eligible for a fourth straight season and awaits the announcement of its post season destination.

Bowden won this week’s award over Florida’s Kyle Trask and Zac Thomas of Appalachian State. Trask completed 30-of-41 passes for 343 yards and three touchdowns as Florida beat rival Florida State and snapped a four-game home losing streak to the Seminoles. Thomas completed 28-of-34 passes for 326 yards and four touchdowns with one interception. He matched a career-high for touchdowns and set a career-best for passing yards as the Mountaineers rolled to a 48-13 victory over Troy.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 16 quarterbacks in midseason. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, December 5, and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.