Manning Planning – Sept. 15


Manning Planning – Sept. 15 park

Manning Planning

Here’s your weekly schedule to follow all of the members of the Manning Award Watch List. The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, published its complete preseason Watch List on Aug. 16. The list includes 33 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2010 season, however, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the award and mid-season additions to the list are possible.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Thursday, Sept. 16 (All times are Central)
Zach Collaros:
Cincinnati at N.C. State, 6:30 p.m., ESPN; Last week, Collaros became the fourth different QB to start the home opener at Nippert in the past four seasons.

Russell Wilson: N.C. State vs. Cincinnati, 6:30 p.m., ESPN; After being sacked three times last week and posting the second lowest completion percentage of his career, Wilson is ready to get back on top this week.

Friday, Sept. 17
Colin Kaepernick: Nevada vs. California, 9:00 p.m., ESPN2; Kaepernick ripped off a 57-yard run on Nevada’s first drive of the Colorado State game on Sept. 11 and in doing so, he crossed the 3,000-yard mark for his career.

Kevin Riley: California at Nevada, 9:00 p.m., ESPN2; Riley leads the Pac-10 and is third in the nation with a passer efficiency rating of 205.27.

Saturday, Sept. 18

Matt Barkley: No. 18 USC at Minnesota, 2:30 p.m., ESPN; Barkley has completed 66% of his passes with seven TDs and has yet to be picked off.

Diondre Borel: Utah State vs. Fresno State, 7 p.m.; Borel topped the 5,000 career passing-yard plateau on Saturday becoming just the seventh Aggie QB to reach the mark.

Ryan Colburn: Fresno State at Utah State, 7 p.m.; Colburn set a career-high with four touchdown passes at Wisconsin last week.

Kirk Cousins: Michigan State vs. Notre Dame, 7 p.m., ABC/ESPN2; Cousins will carry a lot of emotion into the contest as a last second interception lost it for the Spartans last year against ND.

Andy Dalton: No. 4 TCU vs. Baylor, 3:30 p.m., Versus; The last meeting between TCU and Baylor, a 27-0 Horned Frog victory in the 2007 season opener, marked Andy Dalton’s collegiate debut as a redshirt freshman.

Ricky Dobbs: Navy at Louisiana Tech, 6 p.m.; Dobbs has scored at least one rushing touchdown in all 15 of his career starts. 

Nick Foles: No. 24 Arizona vs. No. 9 Iowa, 9:30 p.m., ESPN; Foles is just 208 yards shy of moving into UA’s career top-10 in passing yards.

Blaine Gabbert: Missouri vs. San Diego State, 6 p.m.; Gabbert broke MU’s single-game completion percentage record last Saturday with 83.9%.

Robert Griffin, III: Baylor at No. 4 TCU, 3:30 p.m., Versus; Griffin’s next rushing TD will give him 19 career rushing touchdowns — the most by a quarterback in Baylor history, passing Don Trull (18).

Jordan Jefferson: No. 15 LSU vs. Mississippi State, 6 p.m., ESPNU; With 11 wins Jefferson is the second winningest QB in the SEC behind Alabama’s Greg McElroy’s 16.

Jerrod Johnson: Texas A&M vs. Florida International, 6 p.m.; Johnson is coming off his fourth straight 300-plus passing game, and the 10th of his career.

Landry Jones: No. 7 Oklahoma vs. Air Force, 2:30 p.m., FSN; Jones threw for 321 yards in the first half of the Florida State game last week, the second-best one-half total in school history.

Case Keenum: No. 23 Houston at UCLA, 9:30 p.m., FSN; Keenum became the Houston career record holder in passing yards and attempts last week, but suffered a concussion which could limit him this week.

G.J. Kinne: Tulsa at Oklahoma State, 6 p.m.; Kinne has now surpassed the 300-yard passing plateau in four of the last six games.

Jake Locker: Washington vs. No. 8 Nebraska, 2:30 p.m., ABC/ESPN2; Locker moved into 3rd on UW career passing yards list last week with 289 yards in the Syracuse game.

Andrew Luck: No. 19 Stanford vs. Wake Forest, 10:15 p.m., ESPN2; Luck is tied for third nationally in passing TDs after two games with six.

Ryan Mallett: No. 12 Arkansas at Georgia, 11 a.m., ESPN/ESPN2; Mallett has set or tied 18 Arkansas records.

Greg McElroy: No. 1 Alabama at Duke, 2:30 p.m., ABC/ESPN-GP; McElroy completed 16 of 24 pass attempts for 229 yards and two touchdowns against Penn State to surpass 3,000 passing yards for his career.

Kellen Moore: No. 3 Boise State at Wyoming, 7 p.m., CBSC; Moore completed 23-of-38 passes for 215 yards, three touchdowns and no interceptions in a week-one victory; the Broncos rested with a bye last week.

Joshua Nesbitt: Georgia Tech at North Carolina, 11 a.m., Raycom/ESPN-GP; Last week, Nesbitt posted a career-high 32 carries for 97 yards.

Kyle Padron: SMU vs. Washington State, 2:30 p.m., CBSC; Padron had career-highs of nine carries and 66 rushing yards along with a career-long run of 24 yards last week.

Christian Ponder: No. 17 Florida State vs. BYU, 2:30 p.m., ESPNU; With 5,108 career passing yards, Ponder currently ranks eighth in school history; he could become just the fourth Seminole to eclipse the 7,000-yard standard.

Terrelle Pryor: No. 2 Ohio State vs. Ohio, 11 a.m.; Pryor currently ranks third among Ohio State quarterbacks in career rushing yards with 1,540.

Ricky Stanzi: No. 9 Iowa at No. 24 Arizona, 9:30 p.m., ESPN; Stanzi has led Iowa to a 20-4 record as a starter, including an 11-2 record in Kinnick Stadium and a 10-4 record in Big Ten games.

Tyrod Taylor: Virginia Tech vs. East Carolina, 12:30 p.m.; Taylor has moved into second place in all-time total offense at Tech with 6,280 yards.

Scott Tolzien: No. 11 Wisconsin vs. Arizona State, 2:30 p.m., ABC/ESPN2; Tolzien holds school records for career completion percentage at .651 and career QB efficiency rating of 143.6.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.