Manning Planning – Oct. 14


Manning Planning – Oct. 14 park

Here's your weekly schedule to follow all of the members of the Manning Award Watch List. The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, published its complete preseason Watch List on Aug. 16. The list includes 33 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2010 season, however, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the award and mid-season additions to the list are possible.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Friday, Oct. 15 (All times are Central)
Zach Collaros: Cincinnati at Louisville, 7 p.m., ESPN; Collaros leads the BIG EAST in pass efficiency (158.14) and passing yards per game (236.0).

Saturday, Oct. 16
Matt Barkley: USC vs. California, 2:30 p.m., FSN/CSNB; Barkley has thrown at least one TD pass in 15 of his 18 career games (including 12 consecutive games at one point).

Ryan Colburn: Fresno State vs. New Mexico State, 9:30 p.m., ESPNU; Colburn has completed nearly 67.1 percent of his passes on the season.

Kirk Cousins: No. 13 Michigan State vs. Illinois, 11 a.m., BTN; With last week's win, Cousins became the first starting quarterback in Michigan State's 43 year history to defeat Michigan twice in his career. Jimmy Raye was the last Spartan quarterback to accomplish the feat (1966 and 1967).

Andy Dalton: No. 4 TCU vs. BYU, 3 p.m., Versus; Dalton is one of just six active signal callers with over 1,000 career yards rushing and 5,000 passing.

Dwight Dasher: Middle Tennessee at Georgia Tech, 2:30 p.m.; Dasher, the all-time leading rushing quarterback in school history, is closing in on 2,000 rushing yards for his career. The senior needs 97 more yards to reach the plateau.

Ricky Dobbs: Navy vs. SMU, 2:30 p.m., CBSC; Dobbs needs just three rushing touchdowns to tie Chris McCoy for the school record.

Nathan Enderle: Idaho at Louisiana Tech, 3 p.m., ESPN-GP; Enderle looks to challenge for the top spot in several Idaho passing categories as the Vandals travel to Ruston, LA to face the Bulldogs this weekend.

Nick Foles: No. 17 Arizona at Washington State, 6:30 p.m., Versus; Foles holds the UA record for single game pass completion percentage for 30? attempts  with 86.49 percent at Toledo this year.

Blaine Gabbert: No. 21 Missouri at Texas A&M, 11 a.m., FSN; Gabbert and his Tigers will be making their first road trip of the season to face the Aggies at College Station.

Robert Griffin, III: Baylor at Colorado, 6 p.m., FSN Central; Griffin III continues his record-setting sophomore season after becoming the second Baylor QB to pass for 300? yards in back-to-back Big 12 games.

Jacory Harris: Miami (FL) at Duke, 12 p.m.; Harris continues to climb Miami's career touchdown passes list and now needs just one more to tie Gino Torretta for fourth all-time (47) and three more to move into sole possession of second place all-time.

Jordan Jefferson: No. 9 LSU vs. McNeese State, 6 p.m., FSS; Jefferson (2 rushing TDs) and Jarrett Lee (2 passing TDs) became the first LSU quarterbacks since Matt Flynn and Ryan Perrilloux in 2007 to account for two TDs each in the same game.

Jerrod Johnson: Texas A&M vs. No. 21 Missouri, 11 a.m., FSN; Johnson needs just 483 yards of total offense to take the top spot in the Aggie record books. The current mark of 8,876 is owned by Reggie McNeal, 2002-05.

Landry Jones: No. 6 Oklahoma vs. Iowa State, 6 p.m., FSN; Jones has completed at least 50 percent of his passes in 16 of 17 career games.

Colin Kaepernick: No. 19 Nevada at Hawai‘i, 10:30 p.m.; Kaepernick passed for 273 yards last week as his team rolled up a season-best 640 yards total offense in a 35-13 victory against San Jose State.

G.J. Kinne: Tulsa vs. Tulane, 6 p.m.; In just 18 games at quarterback for the Golden Hurricane, Kinne has moved into ninth place on the school's career passing chart with 4,381 yards.

Jake Locker: Washington vs. No. 24 Oregon State, 9:15 p.m., ESPN; Locker now ranks second in UW history in career pass completions, attempts and yards (second to Cody Pickett in each case).

Ryan Mallett: No. 12 Arkansas at No. 7 Auburn, 2:30 p.m., CBS; Mallett tops the SEC in total offense with 344.8 yards per game (third nationally) and passing with 349.6 yards per game (10th nationally).

Greg McElroy: No. 8 Alabama vs. Ole Miss, 8 p.m., ESPN2; McElroy looks to get back on the winning track as his streak of 19 consecutive wins to open a career at Alabama and 35 straight wins as a starting quarterback came to an end with the Tide's loss at South Carolina last week.

Kellen Moore: No. 3 Boise State at San Jose State, 7 p.m., ESPN-GP; Moore needs just two completions against San Jose State to set Boise State's career record in that statistical category.

Joshua Nesbitt: Georgia Tech vs. Middle Tennessee, 2:30 p.m.; After tallying 109 rushing yards last week, Nesbitt now needs just 150 to become the most prolific rushing quarterback in ACC history.

Kyle Padron: SMU at Navy, 2:30 p.m., CBSC; Padron has rolled up 790 yards of total offense over the past two games and has passed for six touchdowns.

Christian Ponder: No. 16 Florida State vs. Boston College, 11 a.m., ESPN; Ponder and the Seminoles enter Saturday's game with a 5-1 record and need only one win to extend their nation-leading streak of bowl appearances to 29.

Terrelle Pryor: No. 1 Ohio State at No. 18 Wisconsin, 6 p.m., ESPN; Last week, Pryor tied school record-holder Joe Germaine with his sixth career game of 300 or more yards of total offense.

Kevin Riley: California at USC, 2:30 p.m., FSN/CSNB; Riley continues to lead the Pac-10's active quarterbacks in career victories (18-10 in 28 starts) and TDs (46), and is tied for first in games played (33).

Ricky Stanzi: No. 15 Iowa at Michigan, 2:30 p.m., ABC/ESPN; Stanzi ranks first in the Big Ten and third in the nation in passing efficiency with a rating of 176.85.

Tyrod Taylor: Virginia Tech vs. Wake Forest, 2:30 p.m., ESPNU; Taylor posted his sixth-career 100-yard rushing game during the win over Central Michigan last week.

Scott Tolzien: No. 18 Wisconsin vs. No. 1 Ohio State, 6 p.m., ESPN; Tolzien's career pass efficiency rating of 148.1 is the best in school history and sixth-best among active FBS quarterbacks with at least 20 games played.

Russell Wilson: N.C. State at East Carolina, 11 a.m., CBSC; Wilson enters the East Carolina game leading the ACC in passing yards with 300.3 per game and total offense with 327.5 per contest.

The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.