Manning Match-Up Week Three – September 19


Manning Match-Up Week Three – September 19 park


Only one game this week features Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other as Duke is playing at Kansas marking the first time these two teams have met (12 p.m. ET,). Duke features four-year starter Thaddeus Lewis at quarterback and Kansas is led by senior Todd Reesing.

Reesing's Jayhawks are off to a hot start, ranked No. 22 with convincing wins over Northern Colorado (49-3) and UTEP (34-7) to start the season. Last week, Reesing completed 25-of-41 passes for 260 yards with one touchdown and one interception. Interestingly, Duke is the only other team that Reesing was recruited by out of high school.

Lewis will look to redeem himself after only completing 5-of 16 passes for 60 yards and one score last week against Navy before being replaced by redshirt freshman Sean Renfree, who went on to finish the game 7-of-8 for 106 yards and two touchdowns. Duke got the win last week against the Midshipmen (35-19) after losing its season opener, 24-16, against Richmond. Lewis remains the Blue Devils starter, but Renfree is expected to receive some snaps as well.


Other Week 3 Manning Match-Ups


Manning Award Stars of the Week:

From the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standouts stars from the opening weekend:

Case Keenum, Houston
32-of-46, 366 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT in upset of No. 5 Oklahoma State

Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan
33-of-46, 328 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, in comeback victory over state-rival Michigan State

Kellen Moore, Boise State
16-of-26, 307 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT in victory over Miami (Ohio)

Russell Wilson, North Carolina State
15-of-21, 228 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT


Manning Award Players to Watch:

The Manning Award Watch List will be revised in mid-October. Here's a look at second-week numbers from quarterbacks making a bid to join the Watch List:

Greg Alexander, Hawaii
26-of-36, 453 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT in win over Washington State

Jarrett Brown, West Virginia
24-of-31, 334 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT in revenge victory over East Carolina

Ryan Forcier, Michigan
23-of-33, 240 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, including game-winning TD pass in final seconds against Notre Dame

Bo Levi Mitchell, SMU
28-of-47, 353 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT in 35-33 win over Conference USA rival UAB

Taylor Potts, Texas Tech
36-of-57, 456 yards, 7 TDs, 0 INT in blowout victory over Rice


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

While the preseason Watch List includes just 38 quarterbacks, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

2009-10 Manning Award Watch List Photo Gallery

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last year's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who will bid to become the first repeat winner this season.