Manning Match-Up Week Seven – October 17


Manning Match-Up Week Seven – October 17 park

Three games this week feature Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other, but the selection for this week's Manning Match-Up is No. 20 Oklahoma (3-2) at No. 3 Texas (5-0) to be played at 11 a.m. (CT) on ABC. This game, known as the Red River Rivalry, will be played on neutral ground at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas. This match-up features two of the nation's best quarterbacks as the Sooners' Sam Bradford is last year's Heisman Trophy winner, while the Longhorn's Colt McCoy finished second in that race.

After missing three games with a shoulder injury, Bradford returned last week to lead his team to a 33-7 victory over Baylor as he completed 27-of-49 passes for 389 yards with one TD and no interceptions. He is backed by the Big 12's 2nd-ranked scoring defense only allowing an average of 8.4 points per game.

McCoy leads the Big 12's top-ranked offense and leads the nation in completion percentage at 73.4 percent. This season, he has completed 135-of-184 passes for 1,410 yards with 10 touchdowns and six interceptions.


Other Week Seven Manning Match-Ups
Central Michigan (Dan LeFevour) at Western Michigan (Tim Hiller), 2:30 p.m., ESPN-GP
Minnesota (Adam Weber) at No. 14 Penn State (Daryll Clark), 2:30 p.m. CT, ABC

Manning Award Stars of the Week

From the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standout stars from week six:

Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan (16-of-22, 318 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Chippewas never punt in win over Eastern Michigan and LeFevour adds three rushing TDs as well.

Thaddeus Lewis, Duke (40-of-50, 459 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Career-highs in yards and TDs lift Duke to first ACC road win since the 2003 season.

Todd Reesing, Kansas (37-of-49, 449 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Career-high passing day helps Jayhawks hold off Iowa State and remain undefeated.

Tyler Sheehan, Bowling Green (44-of-63, 505 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Sheehan passes for two fourth-quarter scores then runs for the game-winner with five seconds remaining.

Riley Skinner, Wake Forest (24-of-33, 360 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT)
Wake's all-time leader in victories adds another in 42-32 win over Maryland.

Manning Award Players to Watch
The Manning Award Watch List will be revised in mid-October. Here's a look at sixth-week numbers from quarterbacks making a bid to join the Watch List:

Jonathan Crompton, Tennessee (20-of-27, 310 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT)
Much-maligned quarterback has career day in blowout win over Georgia.

Ryan Mallett, Arkansas (24-of-37, 274 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT)
Another big performance for transfer as he leads Razorbacks to upset of No. 17 Auburn.

Josh Nesbitt, Georgia Tech (4-of-8, 131 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT)
Averages over 30 yards on four completions and runs for 140 yards and three TDs in win over Florida State.

Christian Ponder, Florida State (26-of-36, 359 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT)
Ponder puts up huge numbers for Seminoles, but not enough to offset Georgia Tech running attack in 49-44 loss.

Steven Sheffield, Texas Tech (33-of-41, 490 yards, 7 TDs, 1 INT)
Former walk-on makes first career start and lights up the scoreboard in blowout of Kansas State.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Manning Award Watch List Photo Gallery

While the preseason Watch List includes just 38 quarterbacks, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last year's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who will bid to become the first repeat winner this season.