Manning Match-Up Week Eight – October 24


Manning Match-Up Week Eight – October 24 park


Nine games this week feature Manning Award Watch Listers facing each other, but the selection for this week's Manning Match-Up is a Mid-American Conference showdown between Central Michigan and Bowling Green at 11 a.m. CT on ESPN-GP.  The Chippewas are led by Dan LeFevour, last week's MAC Offensive Player of the Week, while the Falcons boast three-year starter Tyler Sheehan, making his 33rd consecutive start this Saturday.

LeFevour looks to continue his team's current six-game winning streak, which is tied for the sixth-longest active streak in the country.  He is second in the nation in completion percentage at 70 percent (140-of-200) and has thrown 14 touchdowns with just four interceptions. LeFevour has also rushed for 394 yards and nine touchdowns. In his four years as a starter, he has thrown for over 11,000 yards with 88 touchdowns and holds the MAC total offense record with 13,646 career yards. Among active Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks, LeFevour is first in completions, attempts and total offense, second in passing yards and tied for third in touchdown passes.

Sheehan, meanwhile, ranks second in the nation with 2,337 passing yards, and has matched LeFevour  with 14 touchdowns and just four interceptions this year. For his career, Sheehan has over 8,400 passing yards and 57 touchdowns. His offense is first in the MAC and fifth nationally, His 341.1 yards of total offense per game lead the MAC and rank fifth nationally. Last week, he was a Manning Award Star of the Week after throwing for 376 yards and three touchdowns at Ball State.

Central is 6-1 overall and 4-0 in the MAC while Bowling Green is 3-4 (with two losses to nationally-ranked teams) and 2-1 in the MAC. This contest is the first meeting for Central Michigan and Bowling Green since 2006 and the first time at Bowling Green since 2003.


Other Week Eight Manning Match-Ups

October 21, 2009 (Wednesday)
Tulsa (G.J. Kinne) at UTEP (Trevor Vittatoe), 7 p.m. CT, ESPN

October 22, 2009 (Thursday)
Florida State (Christian Ponder) at North Carolina (T.J. Yates), 7 p.m. CT, ESPN

October 24, 2009 (Saturday)
Minnesota (Adam Weber) at No. 19 Ohio State (Terrelle Pryor), 11 a.m. CT, ESPN-GP
Arkansas (Ryan Mallet) at Ole Miss (Jevan Snead), 11:21 a.m. CT, ESPN-GP
Washington (Jake Locker) at No. 11 Oregon (Jeremiah Masoli), 2:30 p.m. CT, ESPN-GP
Oklahoma (Sam Bradford) at No. 25 Kansas (Todd Reesing), 2:30 p.m. CT, ABC
No. 8 TCU (Andy Dalton) at No. 16 BYU (Max Hall), 6:30 p.m. CT
No. 3 Texas (Colt McCoy) at Missouri (Blaine Gabbert), 7 p.m. CT, ABC

Manning Award Stars of the Week

From the players selected to the preseason Watch List for the Manning Award, here are some of the standout stars from week seven:

Max Hall, BYU (27-of-39, 346 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Adds a rushing TD in win over San Diego State

Case Keenum, Houston (30-of-43, 334 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT)
Keenum continues to put up big numbers as Houston rolls over Tulane.

Kellen Moore, Boise State (22-of-32, 187 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Not a huge game yardage-wise, but three TDs keep Broncos unbeaten.

Tyler Sheehan, Bowling Green (28-of-41, 376 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Another big game for Sheehan as Bowling Green tops Ball State, 31-17.

Tim Tebow, Florida (17-of-26, 255 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT)
Also adds 27 carries for 69 yards as he continues to be a one-man offense for Gators.

Manning Award Players to Watch

The Manning Award Watch List will be revised in mid-October. Here's a look at seventh-week numbers from quarterbacks making a bid to join the Watch List:

Matt Barkley, USC (19-of-29, 380 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT)
Late INT was costly, but still a big game for the true freshman in defeat of Notre Dame.

Diondre Borel, Utah State (25-of-42, 353 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Big numbers for Aggie standout despite losing 35-32 to Nevada.

Ben Chappell, Indiana (23-of-38, 333 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Leads Hoosiers to first Big Ten victory in 27-14 decision over Illinois.

Joey Elliott, Purdue (31-of-50, 281 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT)
Directs Boilermakers to major upset of Ohio State.

Nick Foles, Arizona (31-of-41, 324 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT)
Young QB leads comeback from 15 down in 43-38 win over Stanford.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

Manning Award Watch List Photo Gallery

While the preseason Watch List includes just 38 quarterbacks, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. Ten finalists will be determined by a selected panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings. That list will be released on Monday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

The first five winners of the Manning Award reads like a Who's Who list at the quarterback position. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. Last year's winner was Florida's Tim Tebow, who will bid to become the first repeat winner this season.