Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces This Week’s Manning Award Futures

NEW ORLEANS (November 16, 2020) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced this week’s Manning Award Futures – four local high school quarterbacks who turned in outstanding performances on the football field this past weekend. Fans now have the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.

VOTE on Twitter!

The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. For the past decade, the Sugar Bowl and the Manning Award have recognized top collegiate quarterbacks on a weekly basis.

“Given the Sugar Bowl’s long-standing support of high school athletics in the state, we felt this was a natural,” said Bowl CEO Jeff Hundley.  “There are so many great performances by high school quarterbacks in the New Orleans area each week that deserve recognition.  Our partnership with the Manning family on the collegiate award has been special, and we think the Manning Award Futures can grow into something special as well.  It should be fun.”

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 11/16/20:

Arch Manning, Newman (9-of-11, 169 yards, 5 TDs)
Manning put up impressive numbers while only playing five possessions – all ending in TD passes (covering 62, 7, 15, 14 and 17 yards) as the Greenies cruised to a 76-0 Homecoming victory over Cohen.

Jacoby Mathews, Ponchatoula (9-of-15, 138 yards, 2 TDs)
Mathews also rushed 11 times for 120 yards and three touchdowns, including a late-game 81-yard TD dash to snap a 28-28 tie as the Green Wave clinched at least a share of the District 6-5A title with a 35-28 win over St. Paul’s.

Kendell Sampson, St. Augustine (16-of-31, 248 yards, 2 TDs)
Sampson, who also rushed 10 times for 69 yards, connected on a 55-yard catch-and-run TD with 2:35 to go to cap a Purple Knight comeback in a 33-28 Catholic League win over Archbishop Shaw.

Sam Willie, Lakeshore (24-of-29, 294 yards, 4 TDs)
Willie, just a sophomore, has an exceptional game as the Titans rolled to a 41-14 win over previously unbeaten Pearl River to put themselves in position for a fourth consecutive District 9-4A title.

Twillie Lovett from Belle Chasse was the top Manning Award Futures vote-getter last week. Lovett completed 3-of-4 passes for 53 yards while running for 126 yards and three touchdowns as the Cardinals defeated Helen Cox, 33-6, in a District 9-4A homecoming game, their first game since Oct. 22.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.