Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces This Week’s Manning Award Futures

NEW ORLEANS (November 2, 2020) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced this week’s Manning Award Futures – four local high school quarterbacks who turned in outstanding performances on the football field this past weekend. Fans now have the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.

VOTE on Twitter!

The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. For the past decade, the Sugar Bowl and the Manning Award have recognized top collegiate quarterbacks on a weekly basis.

“Given the Sugar Bowl’s long-standing support of high school athletics in the state, we felt this was a natural,” said Bowl CEO Jeff Hundley.  “There are so many great performances by high school quarterbacks in the New Orleans area each week that deserve recognition.  Our partnership with the Manning family on the collegiate award has been special, and we think the Manning Award Futures can grow into something special as well.  It should be fun.”

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 11/2/20:

Tyrese Johnson, Booker T. Washington (8-of-10, 149 yards, 2 TDs)
Johnson, an Arizona commit, also ran 12 times for 131 yards and a touchdown as the Lions ran away from Sophie B. Wright, 34-6, in a District 10-3A game at Tad Gormley Stadium.

Jacoby Mathews, Ponchatoula (5-of-12, 118 yards, 1 TD)
Mathews, one of the top-rated defensive backs in the state, also ran for 78 yards and two touchdowns (on just six carries) as the Green Wave rolled to a 48-14 win over Slidell in District 6-5A action. | WGNO-TV Friday Night Football Highlights

Garrett Mmahat, Brother Martin (10-of-18, 207 yards, 3 TDs)
Playing without his starting tailback, Mmahat and the Crusaders didn’t miss a beat, pulling away in the second half for a 48-21 win over Shaw in District 9-4A action.

Kyle Wickersham, Archbishop Rummel (14-of-19, 306 yards, 4 TDs)
Wickersham, a Richmond commit, also rushes for 20 yards and a touchdown as he leads the Raiders to a 56-33 District 9-5A win over Holy Cross in Thibodaux.

Kendell Sampson from St. Augustine was the top vote-getter in week four after completing 21-of-29 passes for 215 yards and a touchdown while also running for two scores in a 42-21 win over Jesuit.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.