Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces This Week’s Manning Award Futures

NEW ORLEANS (October 12, 2020) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced this week’s Manning Award Futures – four local high school quarterbacks who turned in outstanding performances on the football field this past weekend. Fans now have the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.

VOTE on Twitter!

The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. For the past decade, the Sugar Bowl and the Manning Award have recognized top collegiate quarterbacks on a weekly basis.

“Given the Sugar Bowl’s long-standing support of high school athletics in the state, we felt this was a natural,” said Bowl CEO Jeff Hundley.  “There are so many great performances by high school quarterbacks in the New Orleans area each week that deserve recognition.  Our partnership with the Manning family on the collegiate award has been special, and we think the Manning Award Futures can grow into something special as well.  It should be fun.”

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 10/12/20:

Grant Billson, St. Paul’s (18-of-35, 321 yards, 2 TDs)
Billson sparked a Wolves comeback, throwing TD passes of 44 yards and 11 yards in the final 2:10, as they rallied to defeat defending District 6-5A champ Slidell, 35-32.

Garrett Mmahat, Brother Martin (15-of-22, 330 yards, 2 TDs)
Mmhat, who also rushed six times for 72 yards, connected on TD plays of 80 and 95 yards, and directed a game-winning 72-yard drive in the final four minutes of a 45-42 victory over Jesuit.

Cory Robinson, Hannan (13-of-17, 104 yards, 2 TDs)
Robinson, who also rushed 12 times for 83 yards including a 52-yard TD run, converted a fourth-quarter fourth-down play for a TD to erase an early 20-point deficit as the Hawks rallied for a 37-26 win over Dunham.

Damond White, John F. Kennedy (15-of-22, 241 yards, 2 TDs)
White, who also rushed 13 times for 66 yards and two touchdowns, scored the go-ahead TD on a short run midway through the fourth quarter of a 26-20 win over Douglas.

Northshore’s Brock Welch was the week one winner as over 2,500 fans voted in the poll. Welch completed 11-of-17 passes for 207 yards and three touchdowns as Northshore snapped an 11-game losing streak with a shocking 31-28 upset of Lakeshore, which had come into the game with a 32-game winning streak.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.