Allstate Sugar Bowl and Manning Award to Honor Local High School QBs

NEW ORLEANS (October 6, 2020) – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced a new program to recognize outstanding area high school quarterbacks on a weekly basis. Four area quarterbacks will be recognized as “Manning Award Futures” each Monday with fans having the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.

VOTE on Twitter!

The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. For the past decade, the Sugar Bowl and the Manning Award have recognized top collegiate quarterbacks on a weekly basis.

“Given the Sugar Bowl’s long-standing support of high school athletics in the state, we felt this was a natural,” said Bowl CEO Jeff Hundley.  “There are so many great performances by high school quarterbacks in the New Orleans area each week that deserve recognition.  Our partnership with the Manning family on the collegiate award has been special, and we think the Manning Award Futures can grow into something special as well.  It should be fun.”

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 10/5/20:

Gage Larvadain, Riverside (5-of-7, 298 total yards, 5 TDs)
Larvadain turned in a dominating all-around performance in a 49-19 win over Caldwell Parish. Larvadain threw for 64 yards, had six carries for 187 yards and four TDs; caught two passes for 47 yds and a TD, returned two punts for 48 yards; and had five tackles and forced fumble.

Anterrious “AJ” Samuel, Karr (15-of-21, 293 yards, 4 TDs)
Samuel became the latest in a long-line of standout quarterbacks at Karr. In a rematch of the last two Class 4A state championship games, the Cougars upended Warren Easton, 45-20, as Samuel tossed four TD passes.

DeVon Tott, Mandeville (10-of-14, 319 yards, 6 TDs)
The highly-touted Tott was exceptional in the opener of his third year as the Skippers’ starting quarterback. His six TD passes led Mandeville to a 48-21 victory over Archbishop Hannan.

Brock Welch, Northshore (11-of-17, 207 yards, 3 TDs)
With Welch at QB, Northshore snapped an 11-game losing streak with a shocking 31-28 upset of Lakeshore, which had come into the game with a 32-game winning streak.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 96 Hall of Fame players, 50 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 86-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2021. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.7 billion into the local economy in the last decade.