Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Finalists

NEW ORLEANS (December 3, 2021) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 10 finalists for this year’s award on Friday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

“There have been so many quarterbacks who’ve had outstanding seasons. They’re making this year’s competition for the Manning Award as wide-open as I can remember,” said Archie Manning. “This is definitely a year where we’re very pleased to have the opportunity to see how everyone plays for the full season – right through the bowl games and the playoff – before deciding who will be the winner.”

The finalists for this year’s Manning Award are:

Name, School Cmp-Att Pct. Yards TDs INT QBR Rushing
Brennan Armstrong, Virginia 327-500 .654 4,449 31 10 76.1 256 yds, 9 TDs
Matt Corral, Ole Miss 259-379 .683 3,334 20 4 81.0 597 yds, 11 TDs
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest 255-423 .603 3,711 34 10 82.6 342 yds, 10 TDs
Kenny Pickett, Pittsburgh 314-464 .677 4,066 40 7 81.8 221 yds, 4 TDs
Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati 223-338 .660 3,000 27 8 74.3 342 yds, 6 TDs
Will Rogers, Mississippi State 473-630 .751 4,449 35 8 75.9 NA
Carson Strong, Nevada 367-524 .700 4,186 36 8 64.2 NA
C.J. Stroud, Ohio State 280-395 .709 3,862 38 5 89.8 NA
Bryce Young, Alabama 288-418 .689 3,901 40 4 86.7 2 TDs
Bailey Zappe, Western Kentucky 406-580 .700 4,968 52.00 9 76.5 3 TDs


Statistically, the group of finalists excels in nearly every category as they have combined for a total of 353 touchdowns with nearly 40,000 yards – all 10 have thrown for 3,000 yards including five surpassing 4,000 yards. The group has thrown nearly five times as many touchdown passes as interceptions. Five of this year’s Manning Award finalists directed their programs to conference championship games this weekend.

The list includes three seniors, three juniors, three sophomores and one freshman. The ACC and SEC both lead the way with three honorees, while the American, Big Ten, Conference USA and Mountain West each have one.

In its first 17 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 13 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Mac Jones, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with six Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) are the only schools with two different winners.

Statistically, the Manning Award has seen a wide-range of quarterbacks. Fourteen of the Manning Award men threw for over 3,000 yards in their winning campaign, including 4,000-yard seasons from Burrow, Griffin III, Jones, Marcus Mariota, Mayfield, Murray, Ryan, Watson (twice) and Winston. On the other hand, Manziel, Murray, Newton, Watson (in 2015) and Young were all 1,000-yard rushers during their Manning years.

Perhaps most impressive among the statistics of the quarterbacks recognized by the Manning Award is touchdowns scored. Twelve of the winners accounted for over 40 touchdowns during their successful seasons – Burrow’s 65 touchdowns (60 passing, five rushing) broke Mariota’s record (58 in 2014) for touchdowns by a Manning Award winner.

One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes account of the quarterbacks’ bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Fourteen of the 17 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor. Twelve Manning Award honorees led their teams to the CFP Semifinals or a BCS Championship game appearance (Burrow, Jones, Matt Leinart, Mariota, Mayfield, McCoy, Murray, Newton, Tebow, Watson, Winston and Young). Eight won national championships (Burrow, Jones, Leinart, Newton, Tebow, Watson, Winston and Young).

Previous Manning Award winners have also factored prominently in the NFL Draft as they all heard their names called on Draft Day. Six honorees were selected No. 1 overall (Burrow, Mayfield, Murray, Newton, Russell and Winston), while four others went No. 2 or No. 3 (Griffin, Mariota, Ryan and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-seven different quarterbacks were honored this season and 464 different quarterbacks from 129 schools have been recognized since 2011.