Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 8, 2018) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Sam Ehlinger, Texas (24-of-35, 314 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.8)
Ehlinger also rushes for 72 yards and a career-best three touchdowns as he keys the Longhorns’ upset of No. 7 Oklahoma, 48-45, in the Red River Showdown.

Sheriron Jones, New Mexico (13-of-20, 250 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.5)
Jones, who also rushes for 72 yards, matches his career-best in touchdown passes as leads the Lobos to a 50-14 MW road victory over UNLV.

Gardner Minshew, Washington State (30-of-40, 430 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.5)
Minshew notches his fourth 400-yard game of the year while recording his career-best TD total as he helps the Cougars rally from a third-quarter deficit to defeat Pac-12 rival Oregon State on the road, 56-37.

Steven Montez, Colorado (24-of-33, 328 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.7)
Montez notches his third 300-yard game of the year as he helps the Buffaloes improve to 5-0 for the first time since 1998 with a 28-21 Pac-12 win over Arizona State.

Brock Purdy, Iowa State (18-of-23, 318 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.5)
Purdy, a true freshman wo had played one series before Saturday, comes off the bench and adds 84 rushing yards and a rushing touchdown as he directs the Cyclones to a 48-42 Big 12 road win over No. 25 Oklahoma State.

Anthony Russo, Temple (21-of-25, 254 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 93.4)
Russo, who came into the day with one career touchdown pass, connects on four to lead the Owls to their largest margin of victory over an FBS opponent – 49-6 AAC win over East Carolina.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (10-of-13, 334 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.7)
Tagovailoa connects on a 76-yard touchdown on the first play of the game and rolls to his second 300-yard game (without playing in the fourth quarter) in a 65-31 SEC road win over Arkansas.

Clayton Thorson, Northwestern (31-of-47, 373 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 82.4)
Thorson, who has his second 300-yard game of the year, adds a rushing touchdown with 2:51 to go to clinch a 29-19 upset of No. 20 Michigan State in a Big Ten road game.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 29 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-three players from 60 different schools were honored during the 2017 season.