Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (October 1, 2018) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Ian Book, Notre Dame (24-of-33, 278 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 84.0)
Book, who directs the Fighting Irish to 550 yards of offense, sets his career-high for TD passes as he leads them to a 38-17 victory over No. 7 Stanford.

Jake Browning, Washington (23-of-25, 277 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 95.0)
Browning, who also runs for a touchdown, sets the Washington for all-time passing yards and breaks the school-record for completion percentage as the Huskies cruise to a 35-7 victory over No. 20 BYU.

Will Grier, West Virginia (27-of-41, 370 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.9)
Grier registers his fourth 300-yard game of the year as the Mountaineers go on the road to upend No. 25 Texas Tech, 42-34, in Big 12 action.

Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State (24-of-31, 368 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 95.2)
McMaryion, who also runs for a touchdown, posts his career-high for passing yards as he helps the Bulldogs erase an early deficit to cruise to a 49-27 win over Toledo.

McKenzie Milton, UCF (18-of-34, 328 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.3)
Milton also rushes for two touchdowns for his second straight six-TD game as the Knights extended the nation’s longest winning streak to 17 games with a 45-14 win over Pittsburgh.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (17-of-21, 432 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 99.2)
Murray also rushes for a touchdown to match the school record with seven scores as the Sooners crush Baylor, 66-33, in Big 12 play.

Jon Wassink, Western Michigan (27-of-42, 439 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 92.4)
Wassink, who tallies career-highs in yards and touchdowns, follows up a critical scramble for a 4th-and-10 conversion with a two-yard TD run with 2:53 to go to lift the Broncos to a 40-39 MAC road win over Miami.

Ryan Willis, Virginia Tech (17-of-27, 332 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.3)
Willis, making his first start for the Hokies, tallies his career-high in touchdown passes as he leads Virginia Tech to a 31-14 upset of No. 22 and previously undefeated Duke, 31-14, in ACC road action.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 29 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-three players from 60 different schools were honored during the 2017 season.