Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 26, 2018) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl social media channels (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.




The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Eric Dungey, Syracuse (21-of-34, 362 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.9)
Dungey, who adds three rushing touchdowns to finish with a career-best six total scores, as he leads the Orange to a 42-21 ACC road victory over Boston College.

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State (19-of-30, 318 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.7)
Haskins, who breaks the Big Ten records for single-season passing TDs and passing yards, leads the Buckeyes to an impressive 62-39 Big Ten victory over archrival and fourth-ranked Michigan.

Cole McDonald, Hawai’i (29-of-46, 452 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 87.9)
McDonald, who also rushes for a touchdown, throws for a career-high in passing yards, including a 10-yard overtime delivery which keyed the Rainbow Warriors 31-30 MW road victory over San Diego State.

Justin McMillan, Tulane (18-of-29, 291 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 65.0)
McMillan connects on a 26-yard touchdown pass and then follows with a passing two-point conversion with 1:27 left as the Green Wave defeats Navy, 29-28, to become bowl eligible for the first time since 2013.

Kellen Mond, Texas A&M (23-of-49, 287 yards, 6 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.1)
Mond, who rushes for 42 yards and a touchdown, also connects on three two-point conversions as he keys the Aggies’ wild 74-72 seven-overtime SEC victory over No. 7 LSU.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (20-of-27, 364 yards 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 99.1)
Murray, who also rushes for 114 yards, including a 55-yard touchdown, leads the Sooners to a wild 59-56 victory over No. 13 West Virginia to clinch the Big-12 regular season championship.

Kyle Shurmur, Vanderbilt (31-of-35, 367 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.1)
Shurmur, who completes his first 15 passes, sets a school-record for completion percentage and tallies season-bests in yards and touchdowns as he directs the Commodores to a 38-13 SEC victory over archrival Tennessee to become bowl eligible.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (25-of-32, 324 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.8)
Tagovailoa, who also rushes for a touchdown, sets the Alabama school-record for touchdowns, while match the record for TD passes, as the Crimson Tide rolls to a 52-21 SEC win over archrival Auburn.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 15 more quarterbacks to the Watch List in the mid-season – however, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the award. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 29 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-three players from 60 different schools were honored during the 2017 season.