Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 5, 2018) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl social media channels (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

David Blough, Purdue (23-of-32, 333 yards, 4 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 93.9)
Blough, who tallies his fifth 300-yard game of the season, directs the Boilermakers into position for a game-winning field goal with eight seconds to go in a 38-36 upset of No. 16 Iowa in Big Ten action.

Ian Book, Notre Dame (22-of-34, 343 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.4)
Book connects on a career-high for passing yards and also runs for 56 yards, including a 23-yard TD run with 2:45 to go, to clinch a 31-21 road victory over Northwestern.

Caleb Evans, UL Monroe (13-of-22, 337 yards, 2 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 90.7)
Evans, who also rushes for 102 yards and two touchdowns, leads the Warhawks to a 44-25 win over 7-1 Sun Belt rival Georgia Southern.

Will Grier, West Virginia (28-of-42, 346 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.5)
Grier, who notches his seventh 300-yard game of the season, connects on a 33-yard TD pass with 16 seconds to go and then rolls into the end zone on a two-point conversion run to lift the Mountaineers to a 42-41 Big 12 victory over No. 17 Texas.

Tyree Jackson, Buffalo (20-of-34, 358 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 82.8)
Jackson also rushes for a career-best three touchdowns as he helps the Bulls remain undefeated in the MAC with a 51-42 victory over Miami (Ohio).

Drew Lock, Missouri (24-of-32, 250 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.0)
Lock has his fifth three-TD game of the season as he lifted the Tigers to their first SEC win of the year, a 38-17 road upset of No. 11 Florida.

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (20-of-35, 360 yards, 3 TDs, 2 INT, QBR: 93.5)
Murray, who posts his sixth 300-yard game of the year, also runs for a career-best 100 yards and a touchdown as he rallies the Sooners to a key Big 12 road victory, 51-46, over Texas Tech.

Khalil Tate, Arizona (17-of-22, 350 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.4)
Tate notches career-highs in passing yards and touchdowns, including a 57-yard fourth-quarter connection to lead the Wildcats to a 42-34 Pac-12 victory over Colorado.

The Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List and then added 15 more quarterbacks to the Watch List in the mid-season – however, all quarterbacks remain eligible for the award. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 29 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 14 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) joins the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) with four Manning Award winners each, while Texas is the only school with two different winners (McCoy and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty-three players from 60 different schools were honored during the 2017 season.