Allstate Sugar Bowl Announces Manning Award Finalists

Twelve Quarterbacks Will Vie for Annual Honor Through Bowl Season

NEW ORLEANS (December 17, 2020) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced 12 finalists for this year’s award on Thursday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

2020 Manning Award Finalists (stats through December 17)

 Name, School
 Cmp-Att  Pct.  Yards  TDs  INT  QBR  Rushing
Ian Book, Notre Dame 181-286 .633 2,382 15 2 86.1 465 yds, 8 TDs
Matt Corral, Ole Miss 186-255 .729 2,744 24 9 90.5 311 yds, 3 TDs
Justin Fields, Ohio State 107-137 .781 1,407 15 3 94.8 239 yds, 5 TDs
Dillon Gabriel, UCF 227-368 .617 3,353 30 4 80.1 138 yds, 2 TDs
Sam Howell, North Carolina 219-317 .691 3,352 27 6 79.2 121 yds, 5 TDs
Mac Jones, Alabama 217-284 .764 3,321 27 3 96.0 NA
Trevor Lawrence, Clemson 173-250 .692 2,431 20 3 85.1 121 yds, 6 TDs
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina 151-218 .693 2,170 23 2 83.3 473 yds, 6 TDs
Brock Purdy, Iowa State 196-296 .662 2,272 17 6 78.5 310 yds, 4 TDs
Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati 143-215 .665 1,821 16 6 86.0 526 yds, 11 TDs
Kyle Trask, Florida 259-369 .702 3,717 40 5 90.3 50 yds, 2 TDs
Zach Wilson, BYU 221-302 .732 3,267 30 3 87.2 242 yds, 8 TDs

“It’s been another outstanding year for quarterbacks in college football,” said Archie Manning. “We have quarterbacks who can really throw the ball, guys who get it done with their legs and guys who do a little bit of everything. But one thing they all have in common is they led their teams to a lot of wins. I’m looking forward to watching all of them straight through the bowl season and I’ll be excited to see who our panel selects as the 2019 Manning Award winner in mid-January.”

Statistically, the group of finalists excels in nearly every category as they have combined for a total of 284 touchdowns. The group has thrown nearly six times as many touchdown passes as interceptions. In addition, seven of the finalists ran for five or more rushing touchdowns. Eight of this year’s Manning Award finalists directed their programs to conference championship games this weekend.

The list includes six juniors and three sophomores as well as two seniors and one freshman. The finalists are distributed between six different conferences: the ACC and the SEC lead the way with three selections while the AAC has two and the Big 12, Big Ten and the Sun Belt have one each. There is also one independent school represented.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

Statistically, the Manning Award has seen a wide-range of quarterbacks. Thirteen of the Manning Award men threw for over 3,000 yards in their winning campaign, including 4,000-yard seasons from Burrow, Griffin III, Marcus Mariota, Mayfield, Murray, Ryan, Watson (twice) and Winston. On the other hand, Manziel, Murray, Newton, Watson (in 2015) and Young were all 1,000-yard rushers during their Manning years.

Perhaps most impressive among the statistics of the quarterbacks recognized by the Manning Award is touchdowns scored. Eleven of the winners accounted for over 40 touchdowns during their successful seasons – Burrow’s 65 touchdowns (60 passing, five rushing) broke Mariota’s record (58 in 2014) for touchdowns by a Manning Award winner.

One of the more unique aspects of the Manning Award is the fact that it takes account of the quarterbacks’ bowl performances, in addition to the regular season. Thirteen of the 16 Manning Award winners won bowl games during the season they won the honor. Eleven Manning Award honorees led their teams to the CFP Semifinals or a BCS Championship game appearance (Burrow, Matt Leinart, Mariota, Mayfield, McCoy, Murray, Newton, Tebow, Watson, Winston and Young). Seven won national championships (Burrow, Leinart, Newton, Tebow, Watson, Winston and Young).

Previous Manning Award winners have also factored prominently in the NFL Draft as they all heard their names called on Draft Day. Six honorees were selected No. 1 overall (Burrow, Mayfield, Murray, Newton, Russell and Winston), while four others went No. 2 or No. 3 (Griffin, Mariota, Ryan and Young).

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Stars of the Week. Seventy-three players from 66 different schools were honored during the 2020 season and 424 different quarterbacks from 129 schools have been recognized since 2011.